Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

First Alert First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

The First Alert Simple Motion Detector Light Socket screws easily into existing light sockets, making it simple to install. Featuring patented technology, this Motion Sensor Light Socket automatically turns light on when you enter an area and off when you exit. This First Alert Light Socket senses movement in all directions and is ideal for laundry rooms, basements, walk-in closets and garages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation88%28 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Excellent

11/13/2009
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had one of these in my garage for years and it works like a dream. The light in my garage door opener broke shortly after I had it installed so when I open the garage door the light doesn't come on. It would cost more to have it repaired than to replace it. This little unit turns the light on when I drive into the garage. It saved me a lot of money. It works just like they say it does and I have an added bonus in that it turns the light on when I walk out to the garage. These sell on other sites for up to $48.00 plus shipping so this is a really good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Works Well

03/23/2009
By ,
Long Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this motion sensor - its worth the cost and it works pretty good. I have it installed outside my apartment door; to get to our apartment you have to climb an enclosed stairwell thats between 2 apartments & its pretty dark both day & night. Although my neighbors across from me have a light socket of their own, they are either too cheap to put a light bulb in or just dont want a light burning most of the time, so technically they are using it too.
Two things - when I first installed it, it immediately blew out the light bulb - I had to install another bulb which is still working. Also, you almost have to be right under it for it to turn on, but I believe that if it was installed on a normal ceiling it would work perfectly - the ceiling in the stairwell is higher than my apartment ceilings.
I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

With no strings, I saw the light

09/20/2008
By ,
Ocklawaha, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific solution to a dark pantry. No more fumbling around for the light pull chain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Very useful product

01/24/2010
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have this in our garage to automatically light up when someone enters from the outside or from my house to the garage. I privately tutor students and wanted the garage to be lit for students to enter or leave my home, regardless of time. I tried a timer on our fluorescent light but with daylight savings time changes, students having unusual tutoring times because of doctor appointments etc, there would be times where students would be in the dark. With the motion sensing light socket in the ceiling of the garage, the light turns on as soon as a door is opened into the garage. It works great and is on only 4 minutes with a 360 degree detection and range of 12 feet. My husband liked it so much, he purchased another for our basement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Special Safety Use

01/19/2009
By ,
Houma, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this motion sensor socket as a safety need for my senior mother so when she walks into the bathroom a light would come on automatically. She has dementia and doesn't know when to turn the light on or off. I'm currently testing this with a small table lamp and it's worked perfectly, providing mom doesn't turn the lamp switch off. I'm currently waiting for a wall lamp and will use this is the same manner only out of reach. The sensor is quite sensitive. I can just reach my hand into the room around the door jam, no body or full arm, and the light activates. I think this should be marketed with safety products as well. Thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Motion Sensing Light Socket

01/08/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A member of my family was always forgetting to turn off the walk-in closet light. This product fixed that problem. The full retail price is $40, so I was pleased to get it much cheaper at WalMart, although I did have to use their free Site to Store offer and wait a few days for it to come in. It was well worth the wait. Also, this product comes with an excellent warranty. Some reviewers have had problems with the product, so I'm keeping the warranty information just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

save on electricity

12/10/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children always leave the basement light on after finishing laundry which usually means it stays on all night into the next day. Now the minute they get within 15 geet to the washer and dryer this light automatically comes on and goes off auto 4 minutes after no motion is detected. I was afraid the dryer motion may set it off but it doesn't. Now I don't worry about lights in the basement being left on because it goes out itself what a great savings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

lights your way

03/29/2011
By ,
Scottsburg, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We put this in our basement. When I step off of the stairs into the basement the light turns on so I can carry the laundry basket to the washing machine without having to put it down to cut on the light. When I have a load ready to go up the steps I don't have to worry about turning the light on or off. I have enough time to get back up the steps before the light goes off again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

A good idea...if it works

11/26/2008
By ,
Enid, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought 2 of these...the first one only worked for 2 days...the other one is still working...so far. They have a 3 year warranty, so I will probably re-order another one...if it quits working that will be it and I won't try again. They are somewhat expensive for what they are. Took the one back to Walmart for a refund...no problem, had receipt and packing list with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

helpful

01/11/2010
By ,
Troy, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pleased with this product. The ones in Lowes or Home Depot stay on for 10 min., which I think is a waste of energy.
I do think it is a little pricey though. But, it is convenient, and easy to install, just twist in. I am using them in our garage, and would like to use them in our basement as well, price is the only factor keeping me from buying more right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Did the trick

01/05/2009
By ,
Cortland NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked as expected in my hallways where the traffic pattern is well aligned with the detection sensors. This product does have some limitations in that it does not have equal detection capabilities 360 degrees. Make sure to read the directions an understand how to align / point the devise to maxamize detection of movment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Work Perfectly

02/02/2009
By ,
Wheaton, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's First Alert! Of course it's going to work well. This works exactly as designed.
I just wish it was a little cheaper. It seems that the manufacturer discontinued the product, which is a mystery. There's a market vacuum for indoor motion sensing light that are so easy to install and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Do not use with energy saving bulbs

12/14/2008
By ,
chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, but fries if you use energy saving bulbs...even low wattage. Two of my three flicker or don't turn on, the third one fried. Perfect for garage...extra light when cars come in, and automatic on when carrying (both arms occupied) stuff into the garage (e.g. trash, tools).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Not Helpful for Closet

05/14/2009
By ,
Trenton, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have installed this fixture in my walk-in closet and it does not turn on when the door is opened. I have to take a hanger and swirl it around the unit and then it does not always turn on either. There should be a sensitivity switch that can make it highly sensitive in some areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Nice product

01/25/2010
By ,
Saint Joseph, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has been about a week since I bought the product. It works well and is a good buy for the price I paid in walmart. The 360 degree activation helps. It was easy to install and use. Would recommend the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

very convenient in closet

09/26/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great handsfree device for our walk-in closet. The light comes on automatically when we walk in the closet and turns off in a few minutes when we walk away. No risk of forgetting to turn lights off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

not good

02/26/2009
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
needed auto light for dark hallway for elderly friend. put this in would only come on when i waved my hand less than an inch from unit. after i had walked up and down hall and light hadnt come on
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 18 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Motion sensor dies when bulb dies

01/03/2009
By ,
Denver
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the motion sensor. It works very well in my garage. However, every time the bulb burns out the motion sensor burns out also. I'm on my third one and if it goes I will not buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Helps light up my life

01/12/2009
By ,
Titusville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very efficient way to light your walkin closet when you open the door--the light goes on , and when you leave and close the door, the light turns off--no switches needed! Very handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for First Alert Simple Motion Sensing Light Socket

Better than Ezra

01/20/2009
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only problem is retraining to not hit the light switch in the garage when coming back into the house. Duct tape over it made it easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next