Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Honeywell Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Honeywell Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

Stay powered up with the Honeywell Portable Generator 5500-Watt. It features up to 6875 maximum watts and an oversized muffler for quiet operation. Plus, the Honeywell Portable Generator includes 1 liter of 10W30 oil and an oil funnel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%19 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

It will light Your World!

12/13/2010
By ,
Bartlesville, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I unboxd this generator, and all the instructons were clear and all of the parts were there.
My brother and I put the wheels and handles on it in about an hour. It would have gone much faster, but I did not have all of the metric wrench sizes that were needed.
Because of the low temperatures that I would normally be running this product in, I decided to purchase the synthetic 5w-30 motor oil as recommended in the owners manual instead of using the oil that shipped with the unit.
After installing the oil and attaching a ground line to a grounding stake, I put in a gallon of gasoline. It started on the second pull. It was actually quieter than I expected.
I had researched many, many different generators over a period of almost 2 years. I believe I made the best choice for my needs, to provide emergency power for my central heat, some lights, TV, Freezer, and refrigerator.
I am very happy with this purchase, and would highly recommed it to anyone that needs temporary power.
My brother was very impressed and will be purchasing this unit for his home very soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Review 2 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

Good package

03/17/2009
By ,
Omaha, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Found this generator somewhat hard to start: many pulls and changes to choke,etc. Nice features: oil sensor, gas gauge, etc. as well as includes a heavy cord for multiple 120v devices. Seems to provide pretty clean AC power.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 3 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

Impressed

10/05/2009
By ,
Fort Worth Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The generator came packaged very well, one hour to assemble wheels & handles. Two washers needed on wheels was not in hardware package, very minor issue. Started on first pull, ran great. This is not the loudest generator I've used nor the most quite, it comes in at a resonable level however. 30amp cord included in package is a hundred value in itself. I researched this generator on the web extensively, it seems to be every thing advertised & Walmart has the best deal-both pricing & free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 4 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

A very happy camper!

02/17/2009
By ,
Boardman, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased the hw5500 generator and it looks and works great! The only problem was that when I opened the box up, the bottle of oil had leaked all over inside the box during shipping. What a mess! Other than that little incident, it went together very easily and started up on the second pull. It'll run everything in my camper, including the full size refrigerator and even the central air!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 5 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

Hurricane Help

01/10/2009
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Relatively easy to put together. Easy to operate and very quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 6 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

Great generator

03/31/2011
By ,
Ipswich, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spent 20 minutes attaching the wheels and handles, added the oil, added gas, followed the starting instructions, and it started right up on the first pull. It was a little louder than I expected, but not too bad, plus it was on the inside edge of my garage which could have made it seem louder. I love that it came with an extension cord that plugs into the round plug on the generator and the extension has four outlets on it. Combined with the four standard 110 outlets on the face of the generator, that is 8 usable outlets. Great! My wife is also easily able to start the generator, and there is an instruction placard right on the top of the generator which shows the exact steps to start it. I would definitely recommend this as an excellent backup source of power. We bought it to power our sump pump, gas furnace (heat in winter), and the refrigerator, and to have a little power left over for lights and a TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 7 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

Remarkably Quiet

07/19/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Started immediately, found its groove quickly, and ran more quietly than I thought possible. The surge rating of 6875 watts made it the winner amongst all others in its class.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 8 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

Under rated generator

12/06/2009
By ,
Amhest,NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this generator for emergency power and was expecting it to run just the heat (forced hot air),well pump and refigerator. This generator ran all of the above at the same time and everything in the house. With every thing running it was putting out continuously 238V/24.7A when the well pump turned on it surged 233V/28.4A (approximately 5880/6620 watts!) saying I am happy with this generator would be an understatement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 9 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator
01/04/2009
By ,
Rockingham Vt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this for anyone who is in need of a generator,looks nice runs good,the only thing that i dislike on it are the wheels they are plastic,i think that rubber would be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 10 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

Generator at Walmart price plus return policy!

07/31/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was in perfect condition. Took my time to assemble (about an hour). Started on the very first pull. Runs perfect. The included power cord is a real added value, it provides four 110 power outlets on a very heavy gauge wire. No problems here! I especially liked buying this from Walmart because if I was not pleased or had any problem - Walmart's item return cannot be beat! Used the free shipping to my local store. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 11 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

good product for the price

04/08/2010
By ,
Dover, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall a very good product. It has all the wattage I need to do all I want. I purchased it due to the fact of the ice storm of 08' and then the wind storm of 2010 when we lost power. I did a lot of research on different generators and this one I kept going to look at. The price is also very reasonable for the size of the generator.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 12 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

Great Performer

03/18/2011
By ,
Desert out of Yuma AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only thing , you need to pick up a 30 amp,5 prong to 30 amp,3 femail plug to run your 30 amp or 50 amp RV hook up, the 30 amp cord sent with unit will not run your Air conditioner, need the 220 to do that. once I connected the short 30 to 30 WOW worked like a charm, around $40.00 for that cord. about 12`` long, only a spurt up charg. when I flip on the Air. am real happy camper SOooo far. :)
Can`t beat the price, I checked all others, saved from $100.00- $200 , over others you know who.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

solid generator

12/17/2009
By ,
eufaula, ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to be a good solid generator. Brought mine home and it started on the second pull. The gas tank drain system could be better designed......it allows gasoline to drip down on the flywheel. I disconnet the fuel line at the valve and attach a piece of car windshield wiper hose to let the leftover gasoline drain into a can. This machine supplys plenty of wattage for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 14 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

Honeywell 5500

02/21/2009
By ,
Bridgewater, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The generator looks nice, does what it is intended to do but I wish it was quieter and as one other reveiwer had said it needs rubber inflated wheels not the plastic ones it comes with. I would recommend the electric start model the pull start is tough especially when it's cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 15 for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator

best buy for the money when considering features

06/15/2012
By ,
vandalia il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brought the generator home and assembled it in about 25 minutes although
I have read some people have taken over a hour, guess it depends on how many times a person has pre-assembled furniture. The box included a really heavy duty 4 receptacle extension cable which allows for 8 plug-ins total considering the other four on the face of the generator.
I like that the start stop switch is on the face control panel instead of on the side of the engine like many generators and it is a large rocker type switch. The wheel kit uses solid rubber tires so that their is no hassle with the problem of a deflated tire. Unlike many portable generators of this size the frame sits up at least 3 inches off of the ground for good clearance and has rubber feet on the front legs.
This generator has a metal 6.5 gallon tank verses plastic and unlike most generators of this size incorporates a separate frame over the top of the tank to help prevent damage to the tank should something fall on it or something need stored on top of the generator . I like that the fuel shut off is located for easy access and the tank has a built in fuel gauge although sometimes these leak after the gasket has aged or becomes loose.
The muffler is well built and the generator noise level is quieter ( 74 decibels) than many generators I have had of this engine size. The muffler also incorporates a spark arrest which is a nice safety feature.
The generator started up on the second pull the first time I put fuel in it which is unusual and usually started the first pull thereafter depending on how many days between the last start.
The most important feature of this generator besides the sturdy build in that this generator head has a built in AVR circuit ( AUTOMATIC VOLTAGE REGULATOR) unlike most generators of this that regulates and keeps the voltage at the set level and highly reduces fluctuations than can/do cause damage to sensitive electronics. I can use my Tv and other electronic items without the worry or need for additional filter equipment. The only drawback of having a AVR circuit board/module built into the generator head is that sometimes these burn out/fail and can make the generator less dependable in a crunch but otherwise many people never experience a AVR component failure.
Another MAJOR advantage of this generator is that the generator head uses a brush-less design unlike many generators of this size on the market. I understand that a brushless generator has many advantages such as a better voltage sine-wave form (cleaner AC ) and no brushes to wear out and replace after a certain number of hours of operation to include pitting damage which decreases dependability/operation over time. I have learned that other similar models do use a brush type design and is why I chose this specific model.
The motor has a cast iron sleeve for better wear and repairablity should you need to have the engine compression restored to original specs after extended usage/wear. the motor incorporates a low oil level shut down sensor which can prevent engine burnout if an oil issue occurs.
I have put 300 hours on this generator and it has performed flawlessly, I ran this generator once for 10 days straight without turning it off as I refueled on the fly which of course can be a safety concern. Like any other product of quality build I read that some have issues, which has happened with me with even my so called top of the line generators.. it's all about averages I believe.
For the price this generator stands out above most in the 5500 watt range of generators on the market and for that I am please with mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Honeywell 5500-Watt Portable Generator
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5