Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

Average Customer Rating:
2.605 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
15
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation42%50 out of 119reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
15
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

SHORT-Term use- ONLY

04/06/2010
By ,
ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hello buyers! Ok, so I moved and needed a vacuum. I didn't have big money to spend on a GREAT vacuum. So I went into my local Wal-Mart and saw this particular vacuum on SALE for like dirt cheap. I called my guy friend and told him (he was already aware I was going to get one). Guess what he did? LAUGHED at me over the phone. yep, he laughed because he said WATCH this vacuum give up on you before the month is out. He was like spend a little extra for a better one, (he said he paid $100 for his). That was too much for me at the time. I was so attracted to the white and green exterior and the fact that i could get a BAGLESS for this amount(i wanted a bagless). So he was all right (sarcastically). So long story short it has been 4 months and I started having problems with this 2 months ago. It spits out dirt and currently won't pick up at all unless I do it manually (walk around with the hose part in my hand-painfully bending over). Now I am online looking for another vacuum...go figure!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 2 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

Buyer Beware

11/30/2008
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is awful-completely burned out after only having about 5 months. Never did have good suction and would spit crumbs out the back after going over them. We followed all instructions and emptied and cleaned regularly but it still quit in the middle of using it with no explanation.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
+23points
Review 3 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

What a waste

12/28/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought that vacuum cleaners couldn't get any worse than the shark that I had but I was wrong! The base is so wide that it can't fit into a lot of spaces. It blows air out the front so you have to run around and try to vacuum the dirt before it blows away. It doesn't pick up anything on hard wood floors, the noise is annoying, and the attachments are a pain to use. The hose keeps slipping out. I hate this vacuum.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 4 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

In some ways great

04/15/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product because I needed a vacuum cleaner without spending a lot of money. In some ways it works great, I have never had a problem with the main portion and its always worked well. But when one day when I was mopping I tried using the hose and it worked terribly. It would not suck anything up instead it was blowing all the dirt around the floor. I would invest a little more and get a better vacuum.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 5 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

Don't Buy This Vacuum!

01/25/2009
By ,
Painsville, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned this vaccum for a couple of months now and it's a piece of junk. The hose keeps falling out, it constently get's clogged and to put the icing on the cake it just quit working on me thursday. Overall the price was good and it looked nice but you get what you pay for. Buy a better vaccum and save yourself the headache. I'm a very dissatisfied customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 6 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

Piece of junk vacuum

12/06/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this vacuum realizing it was cheap, but we've put in a lot of hardwood floors, and don't have a lot of carpet left. We do, however, have a dog & cat that do shed. This vacuum can't pick up anything without clogging, so you spend most of your time cleaning out the filter, watching to make sure the hose doesn't come out of it's precarious perch & blow dust all over, and in general just cussing yourself out for being so stupid in the 1st place for buying it. If you make the mistake of turning it off on carpet, you'll have a pile of little rocks and sand, so make sure you turn it off where you can sweep that up easily. We've also tried blowing the filter out with the air compressor; that lasted about 10 seconds. I'm going to see if Walmart will take it back without a receipt-otherwise it's going in the trash, and I'll live without a vacuum until I find something else. Will never buy a Eureka of any kind again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 7 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

TERRIBLE!

11/26/2008
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't believe anyone recommends this vacuum. It's terrible. Really. It will not work on hardwood floors. It clogs constantly. If you have pets DO NOT EVEN THINK about buying this. I had another Eureka and it was fine, so I dont think it's the brand, I think it's this specific model. Pick another vacuum. You'll be sorry if you get this!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 8 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

you get what you pay for.

03/30/2010
By ,
Oklahoma city, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this vacuum because my other one no longer had suction--had a bissell...could not afford to spend much, and thought I would try this one...I love that you can wash the filter and re use...I do not like the fact that the cord is so short I can't even do my small living room and hallway w/o re plugging it in a different outlet, I also don't like that the hose comes unattached and blows dirt around several times during use. This would work for a small family, but I have pets and small children, therefore I'm using it every day, and now I am having to shop for another one after having it less than a year, something somehow got in the motor, and cannot be fixed...glad I only gave 40 bucks, now I'm looking at buying one three times as costly just to avoid this again...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

eureka the boss power plus upright vacuum

03/15/2009
By ,
cedar park texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This vacuum is the worse one this i have gotten, it can only run for around 3 minutes, before you smell it burning up, it burns up belts every few months, it burns up roller brushes, the third time you run, it i have spend close to 150.00 replacing this stuff, it takes me two days, just to clean, if i do not want to replace something, i start and stop every three minutes, then i have to wait two hour for it to cool off, to run it another three minutes, i only got it because i like that i did not have to use bags, but its not saving me anything, i could of purchase tons of bags, for the price i have spent replacing everything all the time, i do not recommend this at all, unless you buy tons of replacement parts, and know, to keep them stock up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

not worth it!

05/21/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this vacuum free from my landlord so I have no choice to use it since i cant afford to get a new one. I've had it for a little over a year, and EVERY TIME i use it i have to clean the filter out with a toothpick otherwise it will clog up and stop working. I have not had the hose problem that some other people have, but it does blow dust and dirt everywhere. I'm 8 months pregnant and i have 1 short haired dog and i vacuum about once a week and as soon as i can afford to get a GOOD vaccuum im going to. i dont feel like it will keep the house clean enough for a new baby. im so sick and tired of having to take the filter apart to clean it EVERY TIME. and now its also starting to smell like its burning when i use it. DONT BUY THIS VACUUM.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

Short Life

10/23/2008
By ,
Theodore, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum less than 2 months ago based on the reviews here. Had I done a better job of researching, I would have left it on the shelf.
Admittedly, it did a wonderful job up until this past Saturday. Up to that point, my only complaint was that the hose would not stay plugged into the vacuum itself (learned to just keep an eye on it). Then starting Saturday, I couldn't make it through one room without it overheating and cutting off on me.
I tried dealing with their customer service as well as their parent company's customer service regarding the matter to no avail (unless you count the excrutiating headache I had afterward). And my local store was willing to take it back--if I had the receipt (which I should have done a better job keeping track off--life lesson).
So, I went online to see if anyone else had any ideas. Afterall, I don't have the time to vacuum half a room and wait 30 minutes to finish it--that would take me all day just to vacuum! It seems people who owned the "Power Plus" had similar issues.
I realize that this is not the most expensive machine, but it still cost hard earned money. Frankly, after dealing with Eureka's customer service, I won't ever purchase another product from them or their parent company.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

I should had read the reviews.

02/28/2009
By ,
Antioch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I went to wal-mart to pick out my Bissell that I truly loved. It had broken after 2 years.(2 dogs/1 cat) But seeing this vacuum I thought let me try it. I am one that always read reviews, but in this case I did not. Came back to bite me.
What a mistake. For the money,it would had been great. But instead of vacuuming this stupid machine blows so much air from the front that it just pushes all the dirt everywhere. The hose that is used as the attachments comes off all the time. I think it needed to be about 5 inches longer. If it is not in the position then it will not vacuum correctly. Don't waste your money on this product. The cord is so short that you cannot go far either. BEWARE!!!! Eureka should do a recall on this junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

Didn't like at all...

01/05/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was on walmart.com for hours reading the ratings before buying a new vacuum cleaner because my cheap Eureka that I have had for 11 years finally quit on me... When I went to Wal-Mart, they didn't have the one that I wanted so I settled for this one. The hose is too firm and is not easy to use at all. I thought I would like the bagless but after using it one time in a few rooms, it didn't pick up as well even after emptying the canister. And beware, if you don't get the canister locked back securely in place, it will fall out and send the dust and dirt flying everywhere. I sneezed constantly while vacuuming so I guess the dirt flies around in the air. I boxed it back up the next day and will return it tomorrow...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

Good power for a little money

12/27/2009
By ,
Springfield, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my wife as an early Christmas gift and we are both impressed at the suction for a very little money.You must keep it clean though to get it to work as it should. We have to clean the filter after each use but it can be washed and reused. The roller brush on the bottom has to cleaned about every month also, but don t mind if this keeps our home clean and does what it is supposed to do. A word of caution though. Don t take this thing apart to clean inside the house.It makes a mess. Use the porch or the tailgate on the truck instead. Wash the filter with the outside tap also, especially if you use carpet fresh. Ours did ok on bare floors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum
01/02/2010
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this vacuum after buying a Dirt Devil that only worked twice. The prices were similar so I was a little skeptical. I really wanted a Dyson but that's out of my price range for now. The Eureka did take me a while to assemble, but I also got interrupted several times. As soon as it was assembled I vacuumed and was amazed at how much dirt came out of my small carpeted area. I love this vacuum, and I like the colors. The only thing I really dislike is that it's very loud and if something hard (ex. popcorn kernal) is sucked up then it continues to fly around in the canister and make a lot of noise. I think this is a great vacuum for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

THE BEST & CHEAP!!

03/31/2010
By ,
jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this only costs about $50! i use this vaccum as much as three times a day EVERYDAY i have owned this vaccum now for almost two years, i have a two year old and im pregnant so i suck up anything that falls on the floor that i cant pick up... ive sucked up oreos, gummies, and many other things... trust me i beat this vaccum up and it still amazes me. it does shoot a small amount of crumbs out the back but ONLY WHEN you suck up something like i big piece of cookie or something that breaks apart easily (hence the crumbs) once you go backwards over them there instanly gone. i love this vaccum and i love it with the fabreeze filter thats the best...!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

What a waste of money!

05/06/2009
By ,
Redmond, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned this vaccum for 5 months now and it's a total waste of money and time. Instead of vacuuming it blows so much air from the front, that it just pushes all the dirt everywhere. The hose keeps falling out, it constantly get's clogged and it just quit working on Monday.
The belt broke and you know what ?? This is normal wear and tear, that means the vacuum is just 5 months old, but they don’t pay the replacement. And this is not normal, I had another vacuum for 4 years and this NEVER happened !!!
The vacuum looks good and had good reviews, but it is not worth the money. I guess I have to buy a new and a better one this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

Well, I thought it was a good vacuum...

02/20/2009
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought and owned the model previous to this one less than a year ago - the same systems, same controls and same motor, I'm sure. It looks like they only updated the outside plastic styling a little.
The filter and entire vacuum worked very well for my apartment, but it only worked for about 9 months - then the motor self-destructed. I took it apart to see what happened, and to see if I could easily replace a part, but I found charred pieces of what I can only guess were the electric motor's brushes.
Of course by this time I both lost the receipt and tossed away the box. Wal Mart was willing to consider helping me exchange it IF I had at least had the box, but of course the model had been slightly changed by this time (in facia-plastic only I'm sure), so mine didn't look exactly like the picture of this one on it's box, so I ended up walking back out of Wal Mart with only my old broken vacuum.
For the price I guess 9 months is OK, but most of us expect a vacuum to last about 2 years I would think.
As for the design, I thought the filter and debris system was just fine - but I have a trash-can outside the apartment where I would open it up, take out the filter and knock it against the sides of the trash can. If one doesn't do this, the filter stays pretty clogged, but if one DOES do this, but remains inside, they'll end up with a dusty mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

Big headache

03/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this vacuum a year and a half ago. It worked okay for the first several months, though we had to constantly push the hose back in while vacuuming. Recently, it has started spitting crumbs and dirt back out on the carpet. I've tried to carry it over to the tiled floor before it all comes back out so I can at least sweep it up. Otherwise, I have to keep vacuuming up what it drops out. We have been very careful with the vacuum and kept it really clean, but it just doesn't seem to get the job done. I'm looking into getting a different brand. This time I'll spend a little more and get something that will last a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Eureka Boss Power Plus Upright Vacuum

A nice vaccum...

08/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vaccum cleaner about a yr ago, i picked this one bec of the price and how light it is to carry up the stairs since we have a lot of stairs in our home, I also have 4 kids that make a lot of messes and I love this vaccum cleaner bec it gets everything off the carpet and the rugs we have, the only problem I have is the hose keeps falling out but thats mostly bec I don't put it in the right way, I also like how the filter is washable so I don't have to buy a new one very often, I would def recommend this vaccum cleaner to all of my mommy friends bec its so easy to use when you have kids around ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next