Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Danby Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

The compact and energy-efficient Danby 12-bottle Wine Cooler is the perfect choice for your favorite wines. The black cabinet with a glass door is perfectly complemented by the shiny chrome shelves. Turn on the blue interior light to illuminate and showcase your prized possessions. The semiconductor technology and thermoelectric effect add to the superior performance of the energy-efficient wine cooler. You can expect a quiet and vibration-free operation from this thermoelectric wine cooler. With no CFCs and other ozone depleting chemicals, this compact wine cooler is environment friendly too. The integrated soft-touch controls make it easy to use the wine chiller. Featuring a space-saving design, the Danby 12-bottle Wine Cooler is perfect for small apartments, condominiums, and other space-constrained households.
Average Customer Rating:
3.771 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation71%59 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

great product.

08/29/2012
By ,
Tampa bay area, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered wine cooler to be picked up at local store. The cooler only took a couple days to arrive. The cooler works great. It doesn't make any noise at all, stays at a constant temperature and the controls are so easy to use you don't even need to look at the instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Cute but too small

05/23/2011
By ,
APO overseas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The shipping from this vendor is impressionable fast! The product is o.k, cute appearance but it is too small for the amount of bottle it claims to hold. It can hold up to 12 but of the smallest wine bottle not regular size. It is very light to carry, it can be put on a kitchen counter-top easily, just for looks or to hold 6 to 7 bottles.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

warning: an actual owner; not in honeymoon phase.

04/11/2012
By ,
JustbeingHonest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Going to be calling the customer service tomorrow. Wish me luck, because after 90 days the warranty reads that they don't pay for labor or transportation to have it fixed. That could cost more than the unit itself. I purchased this Nov. 21st 2011 and for the past week (April 2012), I have noticed that it's not cooling. Well tried a few things at home. The fans are still running. The inside of the machine looks clean. Infact it still smells horrendously like a nasty plastic smell that it came with. I live in NM, so imagine my suprise when I discovered that my precious wines purchased around the country were a toasty 79 degrees! I hope I can atleast recover on the cost of the cooler itself. Looking at the reviews now, I see the only reason this product has high reviews is because it looks great and is an awesome gift.... at first. Sure seems like the people that have had this 6+months have a totally different opinion and I am not the only one that put my trust in a bad product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

I thought my cooler had died.

06/18/2012
By ,
Davidson NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased this item, I read the reviews and a number of people claimed the unit failed after a year or so. I thought I was facing the same problem when, after about a year and a half, it no longer maintained temperature settings. Gradually, the temps kept climbing, so that soon it was not much below room temp. Time to buy a new unit? I thought so and when I moved the unit to replace it, I discovered that the vents in the back were completely clogged. I cleared them and the unit was chilling again. Lesson learned - if you think there is a problem, check those little air vents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Not Happy

03/18/2010
By ,
Dacula
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased March of 2009. It initially came with 1 broken leg, so I returned it and the next one came with a broken leg. I returned that one and the 3RD one cmae with a broken leg!!! Well, I kept it because I couldn't find another to fit in the location it needed to go. Since, it hasn't remained at the exact temperature specified. If set at 55 degrees, it would vary between 55 and 59 unopened. At almost a year, it's getting worse. The temp is now 63 consistently, with a setting of 55. I called Danby for service and none of the service providers Danby provided work on the product. Needless to say, the service providers must not have much confidence in Danby wine coolers. If you purchase, MAKE SURE YOU GET AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FROM THE STORE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Nice Wine Cellar

02/06/2009
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this wine cellar to hold all the extra wine we got for our wedding. It looks great and was a bit bigger than I thought it would be but I wanted a bigger one so that turned out to be a bonus for us. The controls on it are heat/touch sensitive so we didn't even have to physically touch the refridgerater to change the temperature. *It would be better if you actually had to push in a button to adjust it because I worry that the heat from the oven will be sensed by the cellar and the temp will change without my knowledge. That would be our only complaint. Overall this is a great buy. It holds the most bottles for the price and is a very nice and attractive little cellar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Great product

06/05/2009
By ,
Mansfield, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first time to use the site-to-store shipping. I was very impressed. The fridge is a great product for the money. I looked at many different wine fridges before I picked this one. It works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

A BAD purchase

06/01/2010
By ,
The Villages, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this unit in August 2009 - approximately 8 months later, it stopped operating. We performed rountine maintenance on it and called Danby for help. They said that we had to take the unit to an authorized dealer, that we had to assume all responsibility for diagnostics and labor. The nearest dealer was 100 miles away - calculating 2 rounds trips (drop off/pick up) = 200 miles. Bench time runs @ $35.00 hour and could be more. Customer Service at Danby in Canada could have cared less. Not worth replacing or repairing. We will never purchase another Danby product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Good!

05/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, I love it.
But small noice that I never expect is pretty annoying if you put it in your room like me.
When you sleep, you have to cover light also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Great way to chill

01/02/2014
By ,
De Pere,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for my wife as a Christmas present and was surprised how quickly we got it. It was just as you see it. Nothing really to assemble and no loud noises to speak of. The temperature was set and soon after we put a couple bottles of wine and cans of beer in. This cooler is really handy for both, although the beer wasn't as cold as i like it, it's bearable. If your using your refrigerator for your wine chiller, you'll be happy getting this and free up that frig room for other things.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Good value but.........

06/03/2009
By ,
San Antonio,TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received the cooler before it was estimated to arrive.(good) The description was good and so far the cooler meets expectations. I only gave an average for durability since 3-4 weeks doesn't prove anything. The instruction manual says the light switch is either light on, light off, or light on only the door open. Wrong, only on or off regardless of door open or shut. The manufacturer
customer service did not respond when I emailed
about the light so I would rate them as poor!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

worked fine for a year, then died

08/19/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can confirm the other reviewers' complaints about one leg missing. The fourth leg doesn't appear to fit right. I ordered another one because I couldn't believe their engineers could screw up something this obvious, but the replacement was the same part. I ended up getting a bolt from the hardware store with the correct length I needed to have the fourth leg be at the right height.
The fridge itself worked fine for a little more than a year, and then started cycling on and off. I called Danby customer service and they said it was probably a bad compressor, but for the cost of a service call, it is not worth fixing.
Based on other reviews of Danby products in addition to my own negative experience, I'd say they make lousy products and I wouldn't buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Just what I was looking for!

02/20/2011
By ,
37067
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This wine cooler met and exceeded all my expectations. It is attractive, fits well in my apartment, was fairly priced, and keeps all my beverages cool.
If you are in the market for a small wine cooler this would be a good choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

A real dud

10/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have had this product for less than a year, and it suddenly stopped working. We were very disappointed, because it seemed to be such a ideal product - up until the time it just died...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Nice Unit

12/10/2008
By ,
Greenville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this cooler now for 3 weeks. It was a replacement for an off brand that I had for 2 years which died. I researched as best as I could settling on this model. Most of the higher rated models were much more expensive. I like the fact that it has a digital temp read out on the front and a blue light for display inside. It's totally quite, don't know it's there. I put 12 bottles of room temp wine in it and it didn't take long to get them down to the set 50 degrees. It seems well constructed. My only wish is that it would have had 3 rows instead of four. I have built in cabinets, and it would only fit under 1 cabinet that we actually installed. Also, I wanted a 16 but couldn't find anything in my budget to fit under my cabinets. It would be nice to review this again in a year to see how it's doing. I gave it 5 stars because there are so far no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Nice cooler

09/23/2013
By ,
Pinellas Park, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooler was unexpectedly lighter than I thought. Had to find replacement for my "old" Freon driven cooler and am very pleased with this purchase. The only drawback I have found so far is that is does not hold the 1 or 1.5 liter bottles without removing shelves and even then it is really tight. Otherwise a very nice replacement. Have not had it long enough to comment on durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

Not what I expected!

08/10/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product was purchased last October 2009 and seemed to work good for about 5 months. The problem was that the cooler would not hold a constant temperature when you set it at 55 for example it would only go down to 64-67 range.
It stopped working altogether a few days ago and the power completly went out.
Now we have to search to find a decent wine cooler!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler
12/10/2011
By ,
Chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product although shows a minimum temperature
That it goes down to , barely keeps wine room temp at 68 - 69 degrees
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler

It took time for the temperature to adjust.

09/17/2013
By ,
Cleve, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun product
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Danby 12-Bottle Thermoelectric Wine Cooler
01/29/2013
By ,
Tucson, Az.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jury still out. The temperature indicator flashes "Lo" at times. Nothing in the guide telling what this means. Customer Service told me to return it to Walmart. After about ten minutes, it goes back to steady. This has happened two or three times. Have had the unit about three weeks. Also, the guide indicates the background lighting is optional for steady on or only when the door is opened. The light is either on all the time or off all the time. No option with mine.
Like the looks, quite fans, and cooling. Not sure if it's operating as designed or not. Keeping a close eye on the return time frame window.
Could not recommend at this time. Perhaps after several months of proven service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next