Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation84%75 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

A great product

04/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product based on my use of the B & D pivot hand vac for the last year or so. The hand vac has been great in cleaning up after taking care of our cats' litter boxes.
When I found out that there was a pivot stick, I wanted to try it. I have been using it for about two months now and have not been disappointed. I'm using it exclusively in our garage to clean up after three cats.
The cats spend the days outside, but their food & water are in the garage along with their litter boxes and beds. After a day of constant in & out cat and human traffic, the wind blowing in yard debris, and the cats spending the night, the garage needs a quick daily cleaning. One long haired cat sheds a lot of fur too. The pivot stick vac really helps me keep on top of the mess.
It's not perfect, certainly not as powerful as our corded shop vac. But it's convenient and does what I want it to. I like it a whole lot better than sweeping the garage all the time. I empty the dirt cup and clean out the filter after each use, but I don't find that troublesome. You do have to lift the entire unit in order to clean out the debris, but I don't find it heavy. It's handy to have something nearby that you can rest the body of the unit on while you're emptying out the dirt and removing the filters.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Review 42 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

an EXCELLENT vacuum

04/14/2009
By ,
wichita falls,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was ConsumerReports #1 pick for stick vacs, which is why I chose it. I have found it to be even better than their report. It is the most expensive, but it's an actual pleasure to use. ...even my ex would have cleaned ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 43 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

so far so good

02/08/2009
By ,
lafayette la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well, i just purchased this product. i am amazed at the suction power it has. i have done my kitchen so far and i am satisfied. i do not know yet how long the battery will last but i do run my own office cleaning service, and i will be bringing it with me tonite to work to try it out. all of the rest of the sweepers have not lasted more then 15 min of running and i will be testing this products quality of cleaning and the time it has on the battery while in the on posistion. i will repost after work tonite. but so far so good... make sure to look for my next post i will be sharing pics of how big my office buildings are.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

A Very Helpful Product

02/08/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reason for buying this product was to find a cordless vacuum that could pick up dirt and hair between house cleanings.
The product does work and is easy to use. It picks up on carpet, hardwood, and tile floors. It's a huge help in picking up dog hair from our golden retriever. It doesn't require a lot of effort to use.
It's definitely a great cordless vacuum and I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 45 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Little Vacuum of Value

12/11/2008
By ,
Northern Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little vacuum is just what I have been waiting for. I have an upright which even with the attachments is difficult to get under things. I could not believe what it picked up after only a few vacuum cleanings...amazing! The only thing I wish is that the charge would last a little longer. Great value for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 46 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

B&D cordless swivel stick vacuum

04/18/2009
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The vacuum has excellent pickup, is easy to maneuver in tight places and close to baseboards, etc., and the power charge is more than adequate to vacuum a large room and travel areas to that room. The location & style of the charger and canister is slightly awkward and on the heavy side. Emptying the canister allows some dust/dirt back into the atmosphere if I am not very careful. BUT, the highlights of the vacuum far outweigh the shortfalls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 47 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Convenient and good suction

04/19/2009
By ,
Ypsilanti, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum does a good job on hard floors in picking up dirt, etc. It even does a decent job doing carpet, though it won't take the place of a full sized vacuum. While it is heavier than other hand held smaller vacuums, my 5 year old daughter is even able to use it, so don't worry about the reviews that talk about how heavy it is. I like that it folds up and takes up less room when charging, but the folding action is a bit awkward. Works better than the Shark we had and seems that it will be more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Great for Pet Hair

08/16/2009
By ,
Gainesville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I recently purchased another cordless vacuum that would clog from the cat and dog hair (Oreck Stickvac), I was not sure this one would he able to handle the hair shed in my house on a daily basis. I was amazed at the amount of hair that it collects in such a short amount of time. The battery starts to lose power before the entire house is finished, but it will clean a couple of carpeted rooms, hallway and the kitchen area at full power. I think it is wonderful, although I was a little surprised at the weight of the vacuum - it is a little heavier than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 49 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

A Great Product

01/03/2010
By ,
Medford, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love my new Black & Decker cordless vacuum. No more wires to vacuum over or trip over. No more dealing with the vacuum wire not being long enough. I use it twice a day to vacuum up the constant shedding of my Golden Retriever. It's very light-weight and unfolds out of the charger in seconds. The flexibility of the handle allows you to get under the couch and under all other furniture. It has enough power to really grab the pet hair and crumbs from the floor. The canister is small, however, it is easy to remove and empty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Easy Cleaning

08/18/2009
By ,
Hoover, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice product. I have had the product for less than a month, so I am sure about the durability. It is all plastic, but it seems well made.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 51 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Does the job

04/24/2009
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product plain and simply does its intended job as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 52 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Exactly what I needed

10/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this vacuum to clean the carpeted area where we all come into the house and take off our shoes. I've also used it to clean the kitchen floors (wood). Its cleans carpet much better than I expected and I have yet to use the whole charge. I am very happy. The first base that was shipped didn't work but they shipped a new one which I received within a few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 53 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

love it !

11/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this stick vac to replace the swiffer i was using to clean our hardwood floors. After reviewing consumer reports and the like, this brand stick vac came out on top.
Overall, this is a great product. I use it *every day* to get up all the dog hair and dust in our house as well as little kitchen grungies that get stuck to the floor. The optional brush is nice for vacuuming rugs.
It is the perfect size for cleaning stairs and a good weight to be portable for any floor of the house. It is very manageable and easy to use and move around. I love getting under beds and the dining room table with it. It is also very easy to empty the dirt container. One of the filters is plastic and washable.
The battery lasts about 40 minutes of continuous use. I have 2200 square feet of wood floors to clean and can get 1 floor and a stairway done before the battery starts to lose power. It has a small/sleek charging station, but must be kept on the floor.
overall a greattttt product and i would buy it twice over again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 54 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

woohoo!

12/22/2008
By ,
souther NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
saw this on TV. kinda thought it was a bit pricey but brought it home anyway. charged it for a bit and then was TOTALLY amazed at the power and what my Orek was missing. gets the cat hair out of the carpet that you dont know is there and I
Like that you just grab it, suck up the crumbs from under the table after dinner and then just keep on going. would definately recommend this to ANYONE who wants a clean house and hates digging out the big vac and fighting with the cord. I'd buy one for everyone in my family for the holidays if that many were available at my local store. Ive never been much of a fan of products that are cordless because they just dont run all that long but this one will do a couple of rooms and the stairs. I only wish the head didnt pivot by itself. its awkward on the stairs but that is my only concern. YOU should get one!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 55 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

wow

01/17/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading your reviews and consulting Consumer Reports, I purchased this vacuum. I am very pleased with this product. It has done everything you all said it would. It even works well on the long black hair of my German shepard. It does a great job on my stairs. It holds a charage until I am done. It is light wt. and handles easily. I highly recommend this. I had no problems getting it on line either. BUY it you will love it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 56 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Just what we needed

11/06/2008
By ,
Elizabeth City, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For years I've had the Rainbow vac, which I truly love, but it is definitely a big production everytime I want to vacuum. This Black and Decker cordless is so great for in between pick ups, and not having to deal with a cord still makes me say a silent prayer of thanks to technology.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 57 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Great Vacuum

01/19/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this after reading many positive reviews and I'm not disappointed! This vacuum works great on my hardwood floors as well as touch ups on my carpet and throw rugs. Very versatile, light weight, and powerful. I can't believe how much suction power it has! I highly recommend this to anyone. It stays charged because it stores on the charger base and is very easy to use and empty. I did not find it awkward as some reviewers had.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 58 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

compact cleaner

07/08/2009
By ,
Paris, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i enjoy that fact that i dont have to lug a electric cord behind me when i move into a different room. this nifty tool is stored in a charging base, and you have to read diretions on how to unfold and secure it for vacumm purposes, after that, it has been so easy and enjoyable to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 59 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Move Over Traditional Vacuums

09/05/2008
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my home we have bumpy tile, ceramic tile, laminate flooring, carpet and throw rugs. The carpeting is on three flights of stairs. Needless to say a traditional vacuum is a pain in the rear up and down the stairs, plugging, unplugging, etc. This little vac is great!! I start on the main floor where it picks up all pet hair off the bumpy tile, I go down the stairs into the bedrooms with laminate flooring where it gets all the dustbunnies and end up way down on ceramic tile. It does a great job on all flooring surfaces including the carpet and is very lightweight. Perfect for an older person who can't struggle with a heavy vac but I would recommend it highly for anyone. By the way, I've had Sharks, the Swivel Slider - you name it. My regular vac is being serviced and I haven't missed it at all. Ideal for use in an RV where space is limited. I use the stick vac every single day and teamed up with my DustBuster for walls and ceilings my cleaning is a snap.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Black & Decker 18 Volt Cordless Pivot Stick Vacuum, Model PSV1800

Perfect for Seniors

01/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my elderly aunt who has difficulty pushing around those heavy vaccuums. Without compromising suction power, this vaccuum works great and is really light in comparison to others on the market. It has been a year since I bought this for her and she still tells her friends about the vaccuum.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
41-60 of 81 total reviews