Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Eclipse Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Eclipse Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Energy-saving, Noise reducing, Black-out Curtain Brand: Eclipse Product: Dobby Grid Panel Model: 4311
Average Customer Rating:
4.602 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%110 out of 118reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Room Darkening & Sound Muffling

10/06/2010
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After installing the Eclipse curtain, I don't know how I put up with the outside light from my apartment's horizontal blinds for all these years.
These curtains do indeed block out 'most' outside light and help set the mood for sleeping. Make sure you mount the curtain rod so it extends 3 or 4 inches past the top and sides of the window to help block extra light from leaking in. I got the 84" curtain which I have resting 2" form the floor. I'm using 2 curtains panels to cover the 58" window.
The added bonus is the way they filter sound. I live next to a busy street. Now the sound of cars going by is not gone, but muffled and slightly quieter. Don't expect any curtain to eliminate all sounds. There are acoustic drapes designed for that.
I like the chocolate brown color. It works well with the tan, beige and black color scheme in the room. The curtains are not heavy but not light and super thin either. The biggest issue is the creases from packaging. I've had some success using a upright clothing steamer though. Be prepared to do a lot of steaming.
I used Walmart's Mainstays curtain rod which is working well. It has 3 mounting brackets so it won't sag in the middle. If you don't have a solid wall to screw the brackets onto, good luck getting it to hold with repeated use with just the enclosed screws. I wound up needing to get 1/8" X 2" toggle bolts at a hardware store for one bracket as it keep loosening due to the side-to-side force of opening and closing the curtain. The wall had nothing solid to screw into but the toggle bolts solved that. I know I'm not supposed to be drilling holes in the wall of the apartment but I will patch it when I move out.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 2 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Perfect for the Sun and Heat of the Arizona Desert

07/10/2010
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading all the reviews, I went to my local Walmart Supercenter and checked out the Mainstays and Eclipse brands of blackout drapes. There is absolutely no comparison! The Eclipse are a far superior product for less than $3 more per package. The Mainstays are very lightweight, made with no backing material and when I held them up the fluorescent lights of the store the material performed minimally. The Eclipse brand has a heavyweight, "classy" material with a full backer that has been tested by an independent laboratory confirming all its claims of thermal efficiency and light blocking. To me the extra few dollars were a no brainer, not only due they look richer but outperform my expectations and I live in the deserts of Arizona!
I purchased two for my East facing windows and three for the West facing, brighter and warmer side of the house where my master bedroom is!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

It has made a difference!

12/04/2009
By ,
Western North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For $12, the curtains were a great value. We've definitely noticed that heat is being retained much better with these curtains, which is the primary reason for this purchase. Pretty good product for a pretty good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 4 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Very nice for price

04/04/2010
By ,
Roseville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surprises at how nice of quality for the low price. Definitely more than I expected. Great at blocking the light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 5 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

meets expectation

12/22/2009
By ,
hewlett, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I always wanted to try the energy efficient curtains and these curtains are certainly efficient. I ordered them in chocolate which is alright if you want a dark room all of the time but, I think I will a lighter color for my bedroom. It's a good bargain, keeps the light out, and keeps the cold out as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Review 6 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Beautiful, Beautiful!!!!

11/29/2009
By ,
Newfane, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very rich looking panels. Keeps light out and draft out. A+++++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

hanging nicely

06/19/2009
By ,
Decatur, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love them and will be buying two more pair this month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 8 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Not very pretty

08/03/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I found waiting for the curtains to be excrutiating long and frustrating process when ordering site to store. I really cant believe it really takes so much time to ship an order. The only reason I did it was because it was free. My fiannce Ricky hated them the minute I put it up. I took them down and ironed them which did help a little. I will have to wait until next month to see if it cuts down on the electricity bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 9 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Really keeps the light out!

03/30/2010
By ,
Altus, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My curtains arrived today and I couldn't be happier! You can't see it in the picture, but they actually have a subtle basket-weave texture. I purchased two of the shorter length panels and they look perfect in my bedroom. As soon as I put them up, my bedroom was like walking into a cave! It really keeps the light out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Not energy saving

03/23/2010
By ,
Long Island, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although it does "blackout" the room; it does not help with energy at all. The room temp has not changed with or without the panels. GREAT for blacking out though. NOT efficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Functional but not Beautiful...

02/16/2010
By ,
MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought these because 1) all of the great reviews and 2) the picture makes the curtains look really flowy and elegant. In fact, I'm sure the curtain functions well as energy saving and light blocking, but the appearance is terrible in my opinion, mostly because they are not flowy. They are very stiff...and they did not look pretty hanging on our windows. I saw a review that washing the curtains several times helps so I tried that and it still looks terrible and stiff to me...so buy these if you only want function and you want to save a few bucks, but not if you want it to look nice. I wish I did more research on better looking options because now we're stuck with it or that's $70 down the drain (since we bought 6 panels for my son's room)...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 12 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

great product

03/08/2010
By ,
Fort Mill SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Curtains are heavy weight and excellant for keeping the cold out in winter and the heat out in summer. I bought Chocolate brown and the darker color is more room darkening than the lighter colors. Excellent product. I bought the 64" panels and cut in half to use inside an RV. The color is perfect and grade of fabric is heavy weight. They hang very well on rods or slider hooks. I have these in my home also. Made the RV look and feel like I had custom made drapes. The fabric was easy to work with sewing. I made all new drapes for less than 1/4 of the cost of buying custom drapes in the RV catalogs. Thanks Walmart for carrying this product. I will certainly buy again and recommend to anyone who needs quality drapes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate
11/03/2009
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed with the shipping. The package arrived and nothing was bent or broken and it was packaged up very nicely. Product is exactly what I was hoping for and look very nice and sophisticated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 14 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Good value

05/03/2010
By ,
Seattle, Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews before I bought the product but figured I couldn't go wrong for the price! I originally ordered 2 panels for $9 each, then ordered 2 more but the price went up about $5, not too happy about that. When I put them up on the windows one of each pair of panels was not as dark as the other one, I'd read that in a previous review as well. (Just a side note) They still work fine as far as blocking out the light, my bedroom is almost completely pitch dark....I also have roller shades on the window underneath the curtains, whatever that's worth. I'm happy with my purchase overall, they definately do the trick! ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

They do what they say!

03/24/2010
By ,
North Little Rock, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these curtains because in almost 8-years my child has never slept in. They block the light as stated and for the first time we slept in. They came in good packaging, had instructions for removing the wrinkles that were very simple, were easy to hang up, and do exactly what they say--they block out the sunlight! I would definitely recomment them.
I used Site-to-Store for my shipping option, and other than standing for approximately 5 minutes waiting for help at the counter, once it arrived the gentleman was very friendly and helpful.
I can recommend both the curtains and the Site-to-Store shipping method.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Choc

03/15/2011
By ,
Gresham, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent price for some excellent curtains. We have these in our bedroom and they block out the sun very nicely and they look fantastic.
There is a strange line or something that goes diagonally across them that shows in the light but I honestly have not ironed them so not sure if THAT would help (I don't think so, as it appears to be in the fabric and not a crease or line that could be washed or ironed out.)
Even with that, the line looks decorative to me and I will be buying more of these for the rest of the rooms in our house!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Very heavy material

08/25/2010
By ,
Rotterdam, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered these curtains in the brown shade. The color is very rich and the material is thick and seems durable. They do a great job at blocking out the light....no light comes in at all. Based on that Im sure they will do a good job keeping the heat inside in the winter. My only problem was removing the creases in them from the package. These curtains cannot be ironed with a hot iron and low heat just does not work. I had to send them back because of that but still feel they are a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Amazing!

09/17/2010
By ,
cleburne, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were having extreme waves of heat coming from the windows in our living room towards the middle of the day. We wanted something that looked good, but could also save us on your energy bill. We found these curtains and they have been amazing!! There is a dramatic difference in the temperature of our living room. No more cranking the air down, just for the sake of the living room. Living room now stays cool with the rest of the house. I will buying more of these curtains for the rest of house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

REALLY WORK

03/03/2010
By ,
Redding Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first when I saw these online. I went down to the store to check them out. In the store you can see the colors and different textures. They have cheepy looking ones and then these suede ones that look fantastic!
I bought a single panel for our little spare bedroom. The room was freezing during our winter freeze until I got this panel. The room is now toasty warm like the rest of the house.
I am going to replace all the curtains in the house with these!
Well worth $11!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Eclipse Dobby Energy Efficient Curtain Panel, Chocolate

Wrinkles!

05/28/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very good at darkening the room. My husband works nights and sleeps days, and these help to make the room more "cave-like". However, I can't get rid of the packaging wrinkles. I've washed them twice -- once alone when I first got them and then again later with a load of towels to try and beat the wrinkles out of them -- but they still look like I just pulled them out of the package and unfolded them. And the tag says to line-dry them and not iron them, so what else am I supposed to do?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next