Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

For use with only with special Digital Tuner Boxes and TVs. Consult your owners manual to see if your TV or tuner supports Smart Antenna technology.
Average Customer Rating:
2.854 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation44%18 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

Works Great

10/17/2008
By ,
Indianapolis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This antenna worked as advertized. Paired with the DTA800B1 it worked wonders. Remember this antenna is a smart antenna and only works if your TV/Converter Box has a CEA909 port. This port is required to make this antenna work. If you don't have the 909 port, then look at the ANT1500. Same antenna but without the "Smart" feature and will work as a normal antenna would.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 2 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

Did not work for us

11/07/2008
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this antenna to use with our compatable converter box. We thought we'd get more than the 10 channels that we do through old bunny ears we had. My husband installed it and we ran the hour search for channels. We still got 10 channels, but all had horrible reception. Much worse than our bunny ears. Then we did the fast search for channels and then came up with only 5 channels! Still not great quality when you are paying $60 for this antenna. We did the search for channels multiple times and it never came close to the reception that we got with our old bunny ears! Very disappointed as we thought this should be an awesome product. So, we returned it and bought a Philips Superior Digital Design antenna and got the results we were looking for. It was cheaper in cost and we get a much stronger signal with all our channels.
So, the smart antenna did not work at all for us and for that price, were gravely disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 3 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000
02/07/2009
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have been using the ANT1450 (which works very well) but I thought the ANT2000 would be better and bring in more channels. It wasn't any better and cost twice as much, so I returned it and continued using the ANT 1450.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

EXCELLENT! Love this new smart antenna technology

01/29/2009
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture is stunningly clear. I get WAY more channels than with a non-smart atenna. I am VERY glad I got the digital converter box to take advantage of the smart antenna technology. Smart antenna technology originated in the military sector and has finally arrived for the general public. These devices work best when linked with the digital converter box made by the same company as the maker of the antenna. A digital signal is far harder to tune in than an analogue signal; much picker and easily subject to interference. Place this antenna as high as you can to avoid interference by someone walking past it. I am recommending it to everyone I know. I REALLY like not having to adjust the antenna to tune in a station as I channel surf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

Not as smart as hoped.

11/30/2008
By ,
San Antonio TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I tried this antenna with its companion RCA DTA-800B Digital Converter Box, hoping to capitalize on the "smart" antenna feature. In my experiments so far, the RCA ANT 2000 is no smarter than a fixed omnidirectional antenna I have outdoors on my balcony. Indoors its performance was lackluster, no better than a $20 pair of amplified "rabbit ears" with a UHF loop. My location is about 28 miles from the TV transmitters and not in a direct line of sight, so I had hoped the antenna would pull in a better signal than it did. It may perform better for viewers a little closer to the transmitters; I need to decide whether to test this theory before I take the antenna back for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

01/27/2009
By ,
Lorton, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Since we live on the 3rd floor apartment building and there are other buildings around us, we don't get real good reception even with the ANT2000. We only was able to pick up about 7 channels. The signals were not that strong so some days the signal would go from strong to very weak and lose the signal. If it was a directional anteanna, it probably would have worked better. Right now we found a wireless transfermitted and receiver and that works alot better than the ANT2000. We will be using the ANT2000 in the spare bedroom when we have guest. Other than that, we are not using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 7 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

This product barely beats a $3 rabbit ear antenae

10/06/2008
By ,
Austin, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this when my $3 rabbit ears were unstable in cloudy weather. With all the additional cost and effort to install this, the difference is hard to even notice. Both work in clear sky weather but I was expecting more for 20X the cost. I really only needed it when my satellite picture fails during heavy rain but that is sure to have clouds so I expect it was a waste of money altogether.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-3points
Review 8 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

Trial and error

02/21/2009
By ,
Etters, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The antenna is very simple to set up, just connect it to the tv. But it didn't pull in any more channels then rabbit ears did. I was planning to replace an amplified (and ugly) antenna with this but I only got 3 channels instead of the 5 before. I have bought and returned 3 antennas so far, I guess I'll have to try another one. It would probably work great for someone without a mountain blocking signals like my case. The channels it pulled in were crystal clear so it did work, just not for all the channels I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Review 9 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

Mixed results for distant(30m) stations

10/22/2008
By ,
Fremont, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hooked this up to a DTA800 converter to replace rabbit ears. It found 39 stations, but it still can not reliably tune in the 5 major network stations that are 30 miles away. One not at all and 4 with occasional pixelation. The rabbit ears do a little better, but you have keep aiming the rabbit ears for the best reception. So overall a mixed bag, not the solution I was looking for, but for the stations that do come in, there is no hassle of re-aiming the rabbit ears. Some 30 mile away stations come in fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

A great idea

01/09/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since nothing is perfect, I rate this smart antenna 4 star. Having no experience with other similar products, my only comparison is the old TV and rabbit ears. Coupled with a Tivax Converter Box, the results are better than expected. The Tivax is rated much higher than other boxes with smart antenna connections. Our picture is as good as using a DVD and almost as good as HD, and no fussing with antenna adjustments - just switch channels. It costs $35 more at an electronic store where I shopped.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

Good purchase

12/02/2008
By ,
Merced CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this model antenna because I didn't want to buy bunny ears for my flat screen tv. At first I thought that I had wasted my money, but after reading the instructions and installing it correctly it works. It picks up about 14 channels and it has excellent picture. It is true that it loses signal during cloudy days as has been the case the past few days, but nothing to bad or for to long of a period. I also like the flat design it has it doesn't even look like an antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

Not a good product

02/16/2009
By ,
soperton georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product saterday night hooked it up sunday. It did not get but one channel on anlog and had to move it around outside to get that single. Inside it was nothing, tried it on a dtv on it done worse getting nothing I live in a rural area where tv is how to get even with the best antenna. But this antenna may be worse than a stand set of rabbit ears. I think when the dtv hits in rural areas they are not going to have tvs at all if they need a antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 13 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

WORKED WELL WITH DIGITAL CONVERTER

01/01/2009
By ,
DECATUR, IL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS ANTENNA WAS EASY TO INSTALL. IT IS NOT AN EYESORE IN THE ROOM. IT WAS MORE EFFECTIVE THAN ANY OTHER UNIT I'VE TRIED SINCE INSTALLING THE DIGITAL CONVERTER BOX. THIS IS THE STRONGEST SIGNAL FROM AN INTERIOR ANTENNA I'VE FOUND.
EVEN THO IT WAS NOT IN STOCK, I WAS ABLE TO ORDER IT ONLINE AND PICK IT UP AT THE STORE WITH NO EXTRA COST. EVEN WITH THIS EXTRA SERVICE IT WAS STILL PRICED BELOW ANYONE ELSE.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

Didn't Work For Us

01/31/2009
By ,
Tustin, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Smart Antenna for my Dad. He lives in a 2-story condo. My husband and I tried many times over a 3-week period but we still couldn't get any signal (even on sunny days). After reading some of the other reviews, I tried moving the antenna around, up on the wall, by the window, etc. Nothing we did so far resulted in getting any channels. We are planning on returning the antenna tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

Great SMART Antenna

11/27/2008
By ,
Eagan, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only works with converter boxes (TV's will have them in 2009) that have the SMART Antenna connector (looks like off set phone jack). I found the Quick search was best to start with to find the best placement, then the LONG Full Search (1hour!) locked in reception. Not as subject to interference as rabbit ears with RCA DTA800 was. I have tried over 10 other antennae and this one is BEST
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

better to go cheaper

11/14/2008
By ,
tucson, az
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product was twice as expensive as the one 2 steps down, but the cheaper antenna works better! We couldn't get a lot of channels and it responded very badly to our movement. It seemed that it was TOO sensitive. We ended up returning it and getting the cheaper antenna, which now gives us all of the channels available! Get the RCA flat antenna that they carry in the store!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

Not worth it

02/04/2009
By ,
Colorado Springs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have an RCA digital TV converter box with a smart antenna jack. I used the ANT2000 antenna to replace my rabbit ears antenna hoping it would improve my reception for the VHF channels. I live about 12 miles from the TV transmitting towers. I did the quick scan followed by the long scan. The reception was worse than with my cheap rabbit ears. I returned the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

very diappointed

11/14/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had hoped that this "smart antenna" would provide me with the increased performance that I had ben been led to beleive it would be capable of.
Unfortunately after trying it on 3 Different TV'S and 3 different convertor boxes, I found that my existing analog antennas actually picked more channels. and had a higher performance rating per the convertor box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

ANT2000

01/29/2009
By ,
Grovetown, Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Antenna does not pick up stations as advertised. When you read the online info about the antenna it says that it will automatically detect stations, no adjustment on your part. When you actually get it the booklet tells you if you can't pick up any stations "adjust" the antenna. No real truth in advertising here!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000

RCA Antenna 2000

01/27/2009
By ,
Vancouver,Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I connected the RCA Antenna 2000 to the RCA converter box dta800.It is a simple connection to follow on the instructions.They both work great.I have twelve to fifteen channels that come in very good.I recommend that both should be used together.I used the govt.40.00 dollar discount to obtain the converter.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next