Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Night Owl Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

Night Owl Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

The Night Owl Optics NexGen II 50mm Monocular lets you see clearly in deep darkness. It brings objects into focus and lets you detect movement. You can identify distant targets, such as deer and other nocturnal game, with ease using this Night Owl Optics night vision monocular. It uses advanced designed technology for extra magnification without compromising on light amplification. Its built-in infrared illuminator allows you to recognize targets even in complete darkness, such as late evenings with thick cloud cover or no moon. This Night Owl Optics monocular is easy to grip and carry thanks to its sleek body and soft-touch rubberized finish. There is also an attached strap to further secure your hold. It includes objective and ocular lenses to look through, depending on the scenario and distance, and both are made of high-quality all-glass optics.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%12 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

Not Generation II

06/15/2012
By ,
Rainier, OR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my second night vision monocular by Night Owl. The first one (a much older version) quit working for some unknown reason, so I recommend the warranty. The image is much clearer than older versions by Night Owl (not as grainy) but please know that this IS NOT Gen II! In fact, when researching differences in night vision, Gen I night vision (which this is) is supposed to have at least 1000x light gain. This one touts 500x light gain... Once you get over the "gee whiz" factor, you will want more out of your device. Though for the money, it is fair. If I were to do it again I would buy a smaller magnification. Five times magnification is not that powerful for such a sacrifice in field of view. It's akin to looking through a tissue paper cardboard tube. Another thing to consider with ALL of these monoculars is that the infrared light can be seen with the naked eye by the subject (animal/person) when pointed directly at the subject. It looks like a small red 1" glowing dot -and you certainly need the infrared illuminator if you expect to see in the dark. With a higher generation night vision device you get many more times light gain and in many applications don't need IR. Just something to consider, though the infrared is not too terribly obvious, just noticeable. Hope this review helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

Excellent product

11/07/2008
By ,
Barnwell, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Night Owl NexGen II 50mm monocular night vision device is an excellent value and works very well. I have used it on full to half moon with no IR and could see clearly up to 200 yards. In no moon and no background lights using the IR you can see cleary up to 75 to 100 yards. Battery life is commendable as I have used it for over a month at least an hour a night and haven't changed out the battery.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

Great product!

10/20/2010
By ,
Plymouth, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This monocular was exactly what we hoped for! It helps us see what animals are roaming our yard at night! The visibility is extremely clear, we can easily tell a skunk from a fox or raccoon, coyote from a deer, etc. Easy to use, and great quality for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

Low light scope

06/10/2010
By ,
Atlanta area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit works very well for the price. Its really better than I thought it would be.
I have a 2nd generation rifle scope that was fairly expensinve. The Night Owl is almost as good at about 1/5 the cost.
I'm very satisfied with it....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

Sharp visual and very good for Gen. 1.

09/27/2011
By ,
Athens, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sharp visual and very good for Gen. 1. I'm ex-Army and found it to be as sharp as the night vision goggles I used then. Only drawback, field of view is very small.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

It works!

02/11/2009
By ,
St. Cloud, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This night vision products does what I wanted it to. I have had no problems with it. I did notice that the one I recieved does not have the Night owl tag as the one in the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

Toy quality.

07/24/2014
By ,
Hagerstown MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The technology quality of this product existed about 30 years ago and wasn't much more money than they are trying to sell it for today. Unless you are looking exactly at an object it is fisheye distorted.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

very impressed

06/30/2011
By ,
Denison, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
with a half moon, I could easily see 200 yards without IR. With no moon could see 50 yards without IR and about 100 yards with IR. In an open field at night, there is no way that anything bigger than a rabbit could cross undetected. I had no problem identifying animals with a half moon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

does what it says and more!!

10/19/2010
By ,
ridgeway va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These monoculars are fantastic for any night observations in any type enviorment; "GREAT" I love the price and the product!!! Can't go wrong with these eyes period!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

Excellent

12/14/2008
By ,
Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this worked really well..exceeded my expectations in no-light areas, makes peoples eyes glow freakishly weird...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

Poor optics. Limited range.

05/19/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned it. Very dissatisfied. Worked well for objects less than 10 feet away. Greater than that, just let your eyes adjust. I could see better without them
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From Night Owl10/29/2014
Not a Night Owl SP product.NightOwlSecurityProducts
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular

Lights up the night

11/02/2013
By ,
Rhode island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your a first timer in night vision ,this is it
Great product,price is right...opens up a new world after dark..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Night Owl Optics NexGen II NexGen II 50mm Monocular
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5