Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

26 inch Men's NEXT Mountain Ridge Dual Suspension Men's Bike has a front disc brake for sure-stopping power.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%28 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Great Bike AFTER tweaking.

06/12/2009
By ,
Jacksonville Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While it's true the bikes need adjustments when bought, that's the fault of the assemblers, NOT the bikes. after 20 minutes tweaking and fine tuning everything, the brakes stop it on a dime and it effortlessly switches into all 21 gears. I did all my own adjustments but it could just as easily be taken by a bike shop to get everything tweaked.
And pretty much all bikes could use a good aftermarket seat with more padding and suspension. I never even rode mine with the factory seat, knowing about bikes I bought a comfortable one the same time I bought the bike. GREAT bike, the dual suspension gives an unbelievably smooth ride even over bumpy terrain.
I've had mine for over a year and it's still working great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 2 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Not what I had hoped...

08/10/2009
By ,
RI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off, let me start by saying its a really nice looking bike. It was pretty light for a dual suspension and it was equipped with disc brakes in the front....all for less than $150!!! Though I was skeptical, but with a price like that for all the features and the reviews, I took a leap of faith. Great ride! The seat must be replaced. Period! Yes like all new bikes it needed alot of adjustments and fine tuning to the front/rear brakes and the deraileurs in the front and back. Once that was done, it was great and a joy to ride until....
While riding yesterday morning, I noticed my back brakes creating a rubbing sound. I pull over to see if the brakes needed adjustments when to my surprise: the rear wheel had a crack in it!!! A crack. That's it, I'm done. It goes back to the store. Unfortunately, the model is no longer available which means I would have to get something else.
I would have given this bike better ratings, but I'm hesitant since the bike had a cracked "alloy" rear wheel 1 week, almost 10 miles later while riding around my neighborhood that's paved!
Proceed with caution!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

I love this Bike

06/27/2009
By ,
Haleyville,Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it took me a while to find the rigt Bike for me but I didwith the Mountain ridge.I ride up to 15 miles a day and I have a pinched nerve in my back and I can not sit up right on a bike seat so mountain bikes are best for me,however I did have to purchase a gel comfort seat for this Bike but the dual suspension so much difference.I ride my Bike on rural roads and most likely will have to replace my tires more often than usual but that's no problem.I did take the Bike to a Bike shop and got it fine tuned ,the gears needed some adjusting and so did the brakes because wal mart are great but they are not professional Bike assemblers.I also like the warranty from Next Bikes.I live around a lot of hills and this Bike with 21 speeds is so much easier to pedal,these are quality alloy pedals and that is another reason I chose this bike,I am alarge man 260 lbs and the frame on this bike is strong but lightweight.the front suspension is a little noisy,especially with a lot of wind but not a problem with me,even better the price of this bike has been reduced.I always look forward to riding my mountain Ridge,a great Bike for the Money in my opinion.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Great Bike if assembled correctly

12/28/2008
By ,
Lakeland, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought one for myself and one for my 13-year old son. Both of them had assembly issues which resulted is poor shifting, noisy front disk brake, wobbly tires, but with a few adjustments and tightening of screws and bolts, both were operating well.
The seat could use a little more cushion, but I've had other mountain bikes that were less comfortable. The shock absorber does a nice job of softening the ride. The shifting controls for the 21 gears are standard and perform well, although seem to require constant tweaking to reduce chain noise.
I'd buy another, but I would perform a more thorough inspection before leaving the store next time... ensuring that all parts (such as reflectors) were installed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Bad Gears & Seat

10/01/2008
By ,
San Diego, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this bike on Sunday, and rode it to the my Grad school on Monday. The front gears refused to shift inspite of all my efforts and had a real bad time negotiating steep climbs. While returning I manually shifted the chain to a higher gear, but it again got stuck in the lower sproket when i tried changing the gears, rear gears worked quite fine...
Also this Bike has a real bad seat, and you need to buy a better one to drive it regularly, also I got this bike specifically of its front disc brakes, and the seemed fine in the store, but after one ride they got quite loose.
I hope the problems I have encountered are one off, and am gonna go to Walmart this weekend to get it replaced...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

A very good bike for the money

05/02/2009
By ,
Pensacola, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this bike "off the rack" at my local Walmart. I based the purchase partly upon the previous reviews it received. I was NOT disappointed! The bike is solid, smooth, and very well designed. The only necessary improvement I needed to make was to replace the saddle with a padded one. I found the associate who assembles their bikes to be very helpful and he trued the wheels, adjusted the brakes, and made sure the gears shifted properly. All in all a very pleasant shopping experience. If you're looking for a very good mountain bike at a decent price, you can't beat this one even at twice the price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Great bike, Great Value..

05/31/2009
By ,
Penns Grove, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is nice. The lightweight frame and componants make for great navigating, and ease of use. The front rim is made of lightweight aluminum also, as are the pedals. The gears work great but could use a professional tuning from a bike shop. Its well worth the cost. The front disk brake works wonderful, and combined with the rear brake make for fast and more controlled stop than I was use to from a bike. The shocks ensure a smooth ride. This was my first bike with disk brake or shocks, and this combined with the aluminum frame were great buying points for me. A great bike at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

excellant value for the money

03/03/2009
By ,
St. Petersburg, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the bike on line and when it arrived at my local wal-mart I was advised they did not assemble on line bikes. I did contact the store manager who was very kind and did have them assemble it for me. I had only ridden it several times when I noticed some problems with the front disc brake and the shifting didn't seem all that good. I then took it to my local bike shop for a "tune up". They advised the disc calipers were put on wrong and fine tuned the derailers and it made a world of difference in the bikes performance. It is now a keeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Great bike

04/21/2009
By ,
Austin, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bicycle. I bought one a year ago and it has met my expectations perfectly. This bicycle is good for people of average height, and would even be good for tall or large men. And this is a very comfortable bicycle. With the dual shocks, it provides a smooth ride. I put a seat post rack on it, a light kit and bike computer. I've put about 500 miles on it and haven't had a single problem with it. My only complaint about it was the seat was too hard. So I replaced it with a softer one. But other than that, I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

dont buy

03/21/2009
By ,
plymouth Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this bike to take bike rides with my son and had nothing but problems my first time!the bike pops out of gear by its self, will not stay in speed 1 unless you hold the shifter tightly.also i dont think the seat could get any harder, i would have been better off sitting on the ground. DONT BUY!!! go with the schwinn
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 11 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Excellent bike for the price!!

07/04/2009
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike rides great. I rode my new bike out of Walmart to my home. I rode about 5 mile on this bike with ease, with comfort, and with no problem. The Walmart guy who assemble this bike do a great job. The seat is firm not hard, gears changes with no problem and the brakes work great. This is my second purchase of this brand "NEXT" and so far the Next brand seem to be reliable. The first bike I brought got stolen. It the one for $89.00 Buy this bike you will love it !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Great bike

07/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this bicycle. Comparable in everyway to the more expensive Mongoose. I also enjoy the extra adjustable side grips on the handlebars. Handlebar height can also be adjusted where you need extra spacers for the Mongoose. Shifts very smooth after some adjusting--as all bikes will constantly need as time goes by..same for brakes. Looks fantastic and catches quite a bit of attention when riding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Great Bike

05/07/2009
By ,
Theodore, Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike and fell in love with it. I did replace the seat with a womans seat and I added a suspension seat post and ride it all over the place. The only problem I have had was I had to replace the rear rim but that was my fault not the bikes.
In my opinion it would be hard to find a bike as good for the money, and when I wear this bike out, I will by another Mountain Ridge because I LOVE this BIKE.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

26" NEXT MOUNTAIN RIDGE

04/09/2009
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I drive a 740il, race a Zo6, and ride a Mountain Ridge by NEXT. Look no further. I did all the research, save your self sometime. This is called Bang for the Buck!! The Mountain Ridge is the best value to be found. You will not find a better bike for the money. You may not find a better bike for twice the amount. This bike is the real deal. I hope this helps you with your decision. ***** across the board.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Pretty good

02/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought it a few hours ago and so far im impressed,being a mongoose follower for so long I do like this bike,the xr75 has cheap grips and just doesnt fele as comfortable,im a tall person 6'4 to be exact and this bike is perfect,even though alot of bikes are 26 inches for us taller people some bikes dont cut it,i do recommend buyin a bigger seat,this one isnt too comfortable for big bumps
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

the bike!!!!

11/09/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the bike has meet all my expectations. It is very nice on trails and is great overall. the only problems i have had is the handel bars clame loose and the rear breaks were not working well. but it was a nice bike and all new bikes need a little work. but it is comphy and works great i just got it and it is great and i would reccommend it to anybody and they will see what i am talking about!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

great bike for the price

10/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bike for health reasons and for my b-day
it is a great bike for the money. The only draw back
to this bike would be the seat, but i dont think that
you could get a better bike for the money. The bike shifts really well, the best part for me would have to be the aluminum frame. Light weight and handles very well, i would recommend this bike to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Son Loves It

04/18/2009
By ,
chula vista, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think it's a ugly shape, But my 13 year old son loves this bike. It's lightweight, easy to drive. I have to tell him constantly to slow down. Hw says its easy to drive. My son is 150 pounds all wet, so he doesn't have much leg power but he loves this weird shaped bike. I would gladly recommend this bike for the pure enjoyment it brings.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

GOOD CHEAP BIKE

08/18/2008
By ,
BELOIT , WI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THE BIKE TO GET BACK INTO SHAPE. I'VE HAD THE BIKE FOR A MONTH AND IT RIDES WELL (AFTER U BUY A GEL SEAT) , BUT I'VE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT SHIFTING . I DID HAVE THE REAR RIM CRACK AFTER ABOUT 15 MILES BUT WALMART REPLACED IT WITH A BETTER RIM THAT THE MECHANIC HAD IN HIS SHOP AND IT'S BEEN GOOD RIDING EVER SINCE . THANKS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for 26" NEXT 21-Speed Aluminum Mountain Ridge Men's Bike

Worth the money

01/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter bought this bike as a gift for her boyfriend. He uses the bike to ride back and forth from his dorm to his classes. It works well for him. The seat seemed kind of small but he is a small framed person. If it was for me, I would have had to replace the seat for a larger one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next