Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mommy's Helper Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

Mommy's Helper Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

The Mommy's Helper Cushie Step-Up Potty Seat makes potty training easy. It features a comfortably padded seat and a built-in non-slip step stool. This ergonomically designed product has molded handles that offer additional grip. Non-slip floor pads ensure security. This kids' potty training seat can be easily folded for convenient storage when not used, which makes transporting it to other houses easy to do as well. Designed for maximum compatibility, this seat will work with most standard sized toilets. This padded potty seat will also fit more elongated models. Assembly is simple. If you want a product that helps ease the potty training process, this stable seat is a good option.
Average Customer Rating:
4.336 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
71
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation93%201 out of 217reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 117 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
71
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

Comfy potty seat, not great step up for short kids

05/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really loved the idea of this seat and reading the reviews about the littles ones getting to be independent sold me (besides the great price). I was going to get a little squishy seat for my daughter to use, specifically when she went #2. She seems to prefer us to just hold her on the potty when she goes #1 which is fine with us as it makes the transition to using a public toilet much easier. I searched for step stools and didn't find anything that suited our needs and was afraid of it moving as she climbed up and down. The fact that the seat and step ladder are connected was great!
Unfortunately it's still a little too high for our daughter to use by herself. When we first tried to teach her to use it I just caught her in time as she leaned forward getting off and of course there's nothing holding the seat to the toilet. She's only 20 months so her balance isn't great yet, but now after a few weeks she can take it out, set it up and climb up to sit down herself. We still are right there as she's still wobbly but it's nice to see she's moving towards using it independently. I think when she understands more of what we're saying she'll get that she can't lean forward when getting off as she will fall, for now though she doesn't seem to understand.
As for the seat it is very squishy and she seems comfortable sitting on it. My only complaint is that it didn't fit in our bowl, it was too small and as she sat on it it'd almost slide backwards. We tried setting it on the toilet seat and it actually fit pretty well, but the inner brackets were in the wrong spot. We did a quick adjustment by unscrewing 2 of them, drilling holes and moving them and now it fits perfectly. It's not too small for the seat like it was for the bowl and there is no movement when she sits down (although being short again she has to scoot up onto it). When she gets off now (with help most of the time) she can lift the seat by the handles, the seat folds down and she is starting to slide it back where it goes (although not entirely by herself).
I would recommend this seat to someone who understands not every potty seat is perfect and if you're going to get a squishy one anyway why not try this one? The price is great and you could always just leave off the ladder if you don't like it. Our goal was to get something she could sit on comfortably without us needing to hold her when she goes #2 and this accomplished that. As for independently using the potty alone, I think were a ways from that but we're definitely moving in the right direction! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

Awesome Value - Highly recommend!

07/04/2009
By ,
SF Bay Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having attempted several times over the course of this past year to train my now 3.5 y/o daughter, it wasn't until I brought this home that we were successful! I think that, besides this being well worth every penny and super easy to set up, this helped her feel like a big girl climbing up on the potty. As well, that she felt secure on the seat as even with all her moving around the seat doesn't slide around. This is the ONLY seat we tried that wasn't a standalone potty seat that worked for this purpose. All the others we tried moved around on top of the toilet seat which mildly freaked her out and gave her pause. I certainly wish I hadn't wasted my money on the other, substandard contraptions! The only suggestion I could make is if the mfr could somehow add a side tray for books and toilet paper roll holder, that would be awesome! Otherwise, I am in love with this device and will happily recommend it to others without hesitation!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

Great for potty training!

11/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was a huge help in potty training my 3 yr old daughter. we had originally bought a potty chair that sits on the floor and when she went potty in it it sang and talked. she was terrified of it and wouldn't even sit on it and it costs more than this product. So we then bought her a character potty seat that sits on the big toliet, what a waste of money. She found it uncomfortable and she was always afraid of falling off the toliet. I had been looking at this product for a while and finally decided to buy it. My daughter instantly loved it. she loves climbing up the step and she loves the cushie contured seat. She feels secure with the handles being right there to hang on to and no longer is afraid of falling off the big toliet. It was a great tool for potty train, five days after we bought the seat my daughter was going potty in the toliet! The only reason I gave this product a 4 is because it is not as sturdy as I hoped it would be when she is getting on and off, but overall is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

Very helpful for potty training

04/19/2010
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This seat was an important part of training, because they can go to the bathroom with a solid set-up and they don't have to ask for help. We have a new house and it fits just fine on any seat. My parents have a higher toilet, but they just put towels under it and it works just fine - they are buying one too.
This is easy to clean, it also folds up pretty compact. The girls carry it when we pack up to go, and they can go up and down the stairs with it in their hands. It is lighweight, yet very sturdy. I am very impressed and would definitely recommend this, it was worth the money.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

My son and I are loving this seat

02/03/2009
By ,
Carson City, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son. Hes not even two and pretty much potty trained on a potty seat. I bought this one because he wants to use the big toilet but he is scared of falling in. This seat gives him so much confidence. He goes in, sets it up himself, uses it, flushes, and puts it away. I love how independent it has made him. He even gets mad if I try to help him. Hes growing up so fast!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

Finally using the potty

08/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had small potty chairs. My son had trouble because all the seats were so small. This one arrived, went together in a snap, and he was sitting on it and loving the fact he could go like a big boy. Lots of room for his bottom on the seat. Folds away nicely. My only complaint is that it's a little tricky to climb onto. Hopefully, this will improve with practice!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

My granddaughter loves it

06/04/2014
By ,
Chambersburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granddaughter has one at her Dad's house and she uses it by herself. I tried to get one with a pink step but couldn't find one so I got this one and it's great. The seat is nice and cushy for her when she has to sit for awhile.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

My son loves it

03/25/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 2 year old son loves it, now he does not have to wait on me to sit him on the seat anymore (little Mr. Independent). He has only actually gone in there once and we are still working on pushing a certain something down :) , so it did spray over a bit since there is no shield. Since he was never interested in the little kids toilet this was the best option and he climbes up and down every time we are in the bathroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

The Best Potty Training!

08/11/2014
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product to help train you little ones! We tried a variety of "potty trainers" and this was the only one my grandson would use! Easy to put on, remove and he carries it around! My daughter got him trained in 2 weeks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

***THIS PRODUCT ANSWERED MY PRAYERS***

05/29/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 3.5 year old son REFUSED to potty train - not even close. He was still stuck in the 2yr old class at daycare because they wouldn't move him up until he went one week without an accident... and he couldn't go one day! We tried candy/stickers/books, we bought the expensive little potty seat that lights up and sings to him with the flusher and "toilet paper" sections, we tried just letting him leak on himself to try to let him feel how bad it is, read all the books, talked to all the right people, and yes, I even offered the teachers at his school 500 if anyone could potty train him in one week (1000 if they could do it in a day!) and no one could do it.... we're the parents of FOUR other boys, we've done this before, why was HE being so difficult??? We were desperate!
Then I decided to try this Step Up Potty Seat. I figured "what could it hurt, I've tried everything else". I brought the box home and had him help me put it together. We went upstairs and put it on the potty. I turned to close the door and turned back and he was already climbing on the toilet to go #1!!! He ended up going #2 in the toilet that same night!!! LITERALLY one week later my child was sleeping through the night completely potty trained! He is being moved up to the 3yr old class at school, he is wearing big boy pants all the time now (day and night), even goes at restaurants/stores. He doesn't even need/use the Step Up Potty Seat anymore, just hops on the toilet by himself and goes. I think he just needed something to make him feel safe to get used to the idea of a toilet for that transition period. I would have paid 10 times what I did for this if I would have known it would have worked so well and so quickly! Who knew this was what he needed?
All in all, this product has been a life-saver, and I CANNOT STRESS ENOUGH how this has impacted our lives! No more diapers, no more pull-ups, no more crying/begging/pleading/yelling just to try to get this kid to WALK into a bathroom..... he says "Mommy, I have to go" and we go! I wish there was a way to put more stars on my Overall Rating review....
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

A bit unsteady

11/29/2008
By ,
MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is a GREAT idea and construction seems decent but the actual application is lacking. The seat is the cushiest out there but the ladder is on a hinge system and it does shift around as my 2 year old climbs up. Another annoyance is that when she is perched up there she grabs the handles and lifts the foot plate and ladder up in the air and slams it down on the ground. The opening is a bit too large for smaller children and she tends to "Fall in" a little and has a hard time getting out without the whole thing toppling. Might be good for an older potty training child though...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

FANTASTIC!!

06/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this seat! Its durable, my 2.5 year old can get on and off alone and she can go even when i'm in the other room!
Love love love it! May get more for the babysitters house and my other bathroom!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

Cushie Step Up Potty Seat - leaky

07/19/2010
By ,
AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The step is sturdy, and the handles give the child something to hold on to while sitting on the very cushy potty. BUT for little boys - the slight rise in the front of the seat will NOT keep any urine in the potty. When it does leak onto the seat, it goes under the seat onto the toiletseat, then travels down the legs of the steps onto the floor. Knowing this - keep a towel on the floor, but otherwise the step part is great, and makes it easier to stand the child on while training. It is also larger than the hard plastic floor models, that are too small for a larger child.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

Fits just small toilets

02/13/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product is durable, has soft seat, and has side handles for support. CAUTION! Fits just standard low toilet bowls with standard toilet seat, but not the tall toilets with elongated toilet seat like we have. Otherwise it's very sturdy made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

Get this one!

09/10/2014
By ,
Boone North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does the job like it should but read carefully, it does the job but keep your toilet seat up when your kid(or kids ) use this. It keeps it stable but putting it on the toilet seat makes it unstable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Potty Seat
Posted 10/14/2014
Does it fit over the toilet? Or do you have to raise the seat an place it over the bowl? I was confused by another comment. Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

A great, practical seat design!

09/22/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My toddler was scared to sit on the big potty when I first put him on it. I chose this potty seat because of the handles that he can hold onto. The instant he tried the new seat, I could see that the handles made him feel much more confident and secure about sitting up on the potty. He doesn't need to hold onto the handles anymore and can sit there comfortably, but I think this potty is worth the slightly higher cost because of the handles and step up. It is very easy to fold and set aside too. I wish the slight rise in the front of the seat were a little higher as a urine shield for boys, but I do think this is a great seat and I'm glad I chose this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

helpful easy to use

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mommy cushy seat
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

will help

01/01/2010
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to encourage granddaughter She was excited for first time then lost interest
I believe when she is ready this will be much more comfortable than other options she's 2yrs 9mos This product is very easy to install and remove for other people to use and my granddaughter was very comfortable while using it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

good beginner potty training..

01/07/2012
By ,
Taunton
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used a similar potty seat for three children to learn how to use an actual toilet...it worked great all trained by 2- 2 1/2 years...takes the fright out of graduating to a toilet, skipping this step from a conventional potty training seat. This one was bought for my grand daughter who is 16 months but will start getting her ready for potty training this spring/summer...already letting her sit on the potty stairs so the fright isn't so dramatic, when she starts. She is already showing signs that she can get the idea by hiding when she has to do number 2..if they can't control that they are not ready,,,signs are hiding when they go, etc., she says afterwards that she has poops. So showing signs is one indication that you start when she is doing this..I think 16 months is a bit early so we will wait.
I highly recommend this deat..please be patient..wearing training pants helps more than pullups...(your giving your lo permission to make mistakes..night time is fine. just myopinion...I take care ofher full time while mom/dad are working mon-friday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mommy's Helper - Cushie Step Up Potty Seat

Usefulness: Excellent; Stability: Med/Low

12/23/2008
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great concept but could have improved stability (A little wobbly). 5 stars on usefulness though! I recommend this and would purchase it again. Although if there was a similar product w/ better stability/higher quality I would go with that instead.
Note that my daughter has never fallen off and the unit has never tipped or become dislodged from its position.
My 26 month old can get onto the "big girl toilet" all by herself. She feels empowered. I love not having to clean a fake toilet. 100% of her potty training is on a regular toilet.
I also make sure she's sitting on the seat properly. She's not quite tall enough to sit far enough back on the cushioned toilet seat so I move her back to ensure we don't have any misses.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 196 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next