Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.886 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%44 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

best of the westerns

07/25/2009
By ,
south bend in.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this movie to be exciting entertaining and all around fun. Tommy Lee Jones at his best, and Duval unmatchable. I would recommend this to movie watchers of all ages.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Awesome movie; My most favorite.

08/17/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast delivery ! Received in just a couple of days!!! Only thing, need more full screen movies instead of widescreen. The good thing is that my flat screen TV is capable of adjusting screen size from widescreen to full screen.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Great movie!

01/01/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the last, best western movies for sure, even if it is 6 and half hours long! Hadn't watched it in a few years, had to buy it & still as great as I remember. Also bought the Return to LD, which I've not seen, to follow-up the story which I'm still waiting to recieve.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Great Western...love it.

06/26/2014
By ,
Carriere, Ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always wanted to own this movie. Now I have it on DVD and at a great price. Thanks Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Lonesome Dove

04/26/2011
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie. I have watched it a number of times and only owned the VHS version and wanted the DVD version so I can give away my VHS copy. It is definitely the kinds of movies I wish we saw more of - loved the Old West era and felt the choice of actors in this movie were superb!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Lonesome Dove

01/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best, if not the best, miniseries of all time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

It's amazing how captured you get watching this!

10/16/2013
By ,
Richmond, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is so well written and acted. You feel as though you are right there.. Everyone should see this movie!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Great movie

04/04/2014
By ,
Great Falls, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best westerns I've ever seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

BUY IT

03/18/2014
By ,
ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story, great actors, my favorite western. You will watch this movie many times, and enjoy it every time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

fast

03/11/2014
By ,
CR iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will buy again on their sight!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Good Western Movie.^^

01/13/2009
By ,
Warrior, AL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't normally like western movies, but I really liked this one. Anyone addicted to movies such as Broken Trail and Open Range will enjoy this movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Why would any movie be this long?!?

05/26/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent story line, and there is significant screen play here to the point of it being example of what should be done in future westerns concerning both the screen work as well as the acting; however, the extensive length of this cinematic adventure makes this somewhat torturous device that must be taken in segments, or have great preparation for this experience. This would most certainly be one of the few videos I would ever watch for this period of time. If you can stand the length to see the wondrous work in action, then this is most assuredly the bit for you; however, if you plan on doing anyting constructive within the five and a half hours that you will be watching this, it is highly recommended that you watch someting else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Timeless Classic

01/26/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is one to watch over and over if you are into great stories.
I have seen this many times and bought it to watch many more.
Robert Duvall & Tommy Lee Jones are excellent together in a story of true freindship.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

More Top Entertainment

03/26/2009
By ,
McMinnville, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you only have a recording from TV on tape or the older pan and scan version on DVD then treat yourself to this widescreen version in 5.1 surround sound and the 50 minute featurette "The Making of an Epic". Also enterviews with Tommy Lee Jones, Robert Duvall, the cast and director Simon Wincer. If you've never seen this classic then buy it, you won't regret it and the good price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

I had taped it when it first came out.

12/02/2013
By ,
Wash. C.H.,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had wanted it on a CD and this was a very good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Great Product

07/29/2010
By ,
San Antonio, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great true to life account of the old west.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Best western ever made!

07/11/2013
By ,
Wake Forest NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot imagine anyone else portraying Gus and Woodrow than Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones. Larry Mcmurtrys masterpiece pulls at your heart strings and makes you understand the true meaning of friendship and giving someone your word on a promise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Extremely enjoyable

08/30/2008
By ,
Tyler, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went to school with Mr. McMurtry's sister, but did not know him personally. Have read several of his books tho. Really like Robert Duvall a lot, but wish he could have continued. Jon Voight does a good job filling in for Tommy Lee in the sequel, as does Barbara Hershey, but wish Anjelica Houston would have continued. Filming this movie obviously took some doing. Have seen it at least a dozen times.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

Excellent Choice!

12/26/2009
By ,
Castle Dae, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband could not believe I had never seen this "made for tv movie." My father and my husband both love it. I'm so glad we bought one for us and one for my Dad. He just bought a new tv and can't wait to watch it wide screen with surround sound!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lonesome Dove (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)

great epic

07/08/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ordered this for my brother.he loves it! arrived promptly.he called to tell me how much he loves it it was exzactly as described.thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next