Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Progressive International Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Progressive International Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Its quite important to keep your fruits and vegetables fresh so they retain their nutritional value. After all, the whole idea of good food is not just about taste, but nutrition as well. The Progressive International LKS-06 Lettuce Keeper is a unique fruit and vegetable keeper that can help keep your food fresh for a long time. The adjustable vent in this Progressive vegetable keeper helps in maintaining proper air circulation and moisture. The Progressive lettuce keeper is a container that can also be used as a colander. It includes extra dividers for storing different vegetables and fruits at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation93%43 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Veggies Stay Fresh Longer

02/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When our household switched to a vegetarian diet we were in need of a solution to keep our fruits and vegetables fresh. We received two of these lettuce/produce keepers as a gift and we could not be happier with them. Produce stays fresh much longer which means savings and value. You have to be sure to put vegetables or fruits that require the same settings in a bin. For instance, sweet peppers must be set to open without liquid in the bottom while carrots and celery must be set to closed with 1/4 cup of water in the bottom. You can pair carrots and celery together but cannot add the sweet peppers to them. These units fit beautifully in our refrigerator and make it easy to grab an afternoon snack of cut vegetables. I would highly recommend these to anyone wanting a solution to keep produce fresh longer. I plan to purchase two more because of the sheer quantity of fruits and vegetables that our household uses each week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

A GREAT Product, but Read This First

07/01/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At the time of this writing, Wal-Mart has 2 versions of this product. This one, the “Progressive Lettuce Keeper”, and the other one is the “Progressive Produce Keeper Set”. I wanted 2 of these keepers, so I ordered one of each type. They are EXACTLY the same unit. However, the “Produce Keeper Set” comes with 2 handy utensils and only cost 2-cents more, which makes it the better deal.
Also keep in mind, if you want to keep more than one item, a single unit must share the same “settings” as the other item (even if using the divider). For example, storing lettuce means you ADD water to the bottom base, and leave the vent OPEN. To store cucumbers, you do NOT add water, and leave the vent CLOSED. If you click on the item's picture and “zoom-in”, it shows some basic settings (the manual is more extensive though). The black "dot" means to add water in base.
Plus, even though the manual shows tomatoes, you should NEVER refrigerate a ripe tomato (below 50 F) due to it’s high sensitivity to “Chilling-Injury”. This damage can result in tissue breakdown, accelerated decay, premature softening, changes in flavor, color & aroma.
Lastly, the unit & lids are made of rubber & plastic, but seem a bit on the thin side. So I would take the advice given by another blog and NOT put this in a hot dishwasher.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Really handy and helpful!

07/27/2011
By ,
Brooklyn ,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It hurts to toss vegetables and fruits in the garbage because they go bad in just a matter of a few days. Since I live alone and my cooking happens over the weekends usually, I do not get to use a bunch of parsley, bunch of celery, etc within 4 days. Besides wasting money, it just sad and wrong to waste food. This product has come in so handy, I can't get enough of it. So far herbs (except Basil which did not last), grape tomatoes, celery, leek have lasted for 3 weeks or more. Wow! For some reason basil, mushroom and strawberries did not last :( . My only complain is that it is big, which works fine when you have a lot to save, but it should have more compartments to be able to store more products without combining them. It takes a lot of space in your refrigerator. They need to come up with a set or several sizes.
I got the Rubbermaid set of produce saver containers from Amazon and it was about $19 bucks. People had good reviews on them.
Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Lettuce for one

01/04/2010
By ,
Akron, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was recommended to me by a friend, but I was a bit hesitant so I waited 4 months before I finally decided to buy it. As a single woman, I'd buy a head of lettuce and it would go bad before I'd use it all. Now as a married woman, my husband doesn't like lettuce so I'm once again, on my own with the head of lettuce. I finally purchased this from the WalMart site and picked it up in the store. I popped the core of the lettuce out, cleaned it and let it partially dry before storing it in the lettuce keeper. It lasts for nearly up to 3 weeks. One thing I just recently learned....do not cut lettuce with a knife as it starts the "rotting" process quicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

worth every dollar!

04/07/2014
By ,
Hicksville, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! My lettuce definitely stays fresher much longer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

An oversized container

09/08/2010
By ,
Groveland, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Heads of lettuce are round. Then why is this lettuce keeper oval shaped? It takes up almost as much shelf space as two one gallon containers of milk. It makes quick work of filling the dishwasher because of its size. It says to store the divider on the lid. Throw it away. If you are able to find two items that can be stored with the same settings, do you really care if they touch each other? If you do put the divider on the lid, it will not stay and it takes up too much room so that you can’t close the lid if you have a good size head of lettuce. Lettuce, tomatoes, and cucumbers go together, but you can’t store them together in this keeper. The container itself is made of very fragile plastic. It doesn’t look like it would take much to break it. Yes, it did keep my lettuce fresh, but so did the Tupper Ware container that I had for 15 years. That container is round, with a dome shaped lid. The same shape as a head of lettuce. I do wish I had spent the extra money and purchased another Tupper Ware lettuce keeper. I don’t think it will be long before I have to replace this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper
01/28/2011
By ,
san diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
extends the life of salad and other veggies. i recommend. but it is big so make sure you have room
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Works great!

11/30/2013
By ,
Ventura, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I buy spinach in large quantities for smoothies and this is a dream come true for keeping it fresh and moist. Does not rot as quickly. Only downside is that it is a little bulky. Wish I could fit more of these in my fridge. Would definitely buy more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

I plan to buy another one

12/08/2013
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this lettuce keeper because I eat a lot of produce and not all of it fits in the bottom drawers of my refrigerator. This container allows me to stock up on a larger variety of produce. When I make a salad, I use about 12 types of vegetables and fruits. You will be healthier if you buy and use this product. I plan to buy one or two more of them. I also sent one to my daughter. They make a great gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Keeps lettuce fresh.

05/23/2009
By ,
Kernersville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this a little over a week, but so far, it has kept the lettuce very fresh and crisp.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Good purchase.

02/03/2014
By ,
Silver Spring, MD.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is one of a kind. It is rather on the large size but it does serve the purpose. I am pleased at the way it preserves. I am not quite as pleased at the size because it is rather large and hard to fit into my refrigerator, but I am not complaining; it does the job it was purchased to do. Will recommend to friends if they have a larger refrigerator then I do and if they have a large family, as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Looks beautiful and keeps veggies fresh

07/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase. I recently bought a new fridge and was on a quest to make the insides of it appear as beautiful as a picture. I also wanted to maximize shelf space. I bought two Progressive lettuce keepers, and I have to say I am very happy. They look so vibrant and fresh. I put mixed greens into one, and mixed bell peppers into the other, and stacked them on top of each other (they fit well on the tall shelf). Bright green lids make this display even more pleasing to the eye. Clear plastic also adds to the display (although it gets foggy in the beginning).
Secondly, I experimented with keeping my mixed greens in the original package vs. the lettuce keepers. In the original package, the leaves dried and wilted, but in the lettuce keeper they were still fresh. I kept the greens there for almost a week. I'm very happy that this product helped me not throw away food.
Thirdly, the convenience and design. The middle separator wall, when not in use, clips to the top lid - very convenient. And these things are dishwasher safe, on the bottom shelf. Honestly, these lettuce keepers fulfill all my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Makes Life Easier!!!

04/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After grocery shopping, I wash & cut the greens to have ready to eat on sandwiches and to make salads.
This Lettuce Keeper makes it easy, keeps the lettuce from drying out on top & keeping the bottom crisp as well... for a much longer period of time.
We are eating healthier & this just makes it that much easier.
It is very convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

This really keeps lettuce crisp and yummy.

04/09/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Iceburg and Romaine lettuce are now both crisp and fresh. The Romaine used to be limp but fresh. We were amazed how crisp the lettuce was. This keeps lettuce way better than the Tupperware green lettuce keeper we used to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Don't hesitate to buy this if you use salad

07/24/2013
By ,
New York City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm writing this over a year later as I am planning to move to Ohio and debating on whether or not I should leave this for my daughter and her husband to use and purchase another one or ship it with me. All I know is that I NEED this item if I plan on ever buying lettuce again. I have not used it with other produce as I am always eating salads and need to store the lettuce.
THIS THING WORKS AND I CAN'T IMAGINE MY LIFE WITHOUT IT! Serious!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Not what I hoped for.

12/19/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product looks good, but as far as keeping lettuce fresh, no way. I think it would have done better in the bag I bought it in.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Easy to use and maintain lettuce keeper.

07/05/2013
By ,
Golden, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lettuce keeper has vent settings for various vegetables and fruits right on the side, no more trying to find the manual to see what the vent setting should be. Also has the ability to add moisture in a separated well. I use a wet papertowel instead of filling it with water. The container acts as a colander also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Not tod bad

01/09/2009
By ,
Great Falls, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is okay to have it as storage to keep fruit a little bit longer, but not too long
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Great Product!

06/24/2013
By ,
Dallas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for salad!! It holds 2 containers of bagged lettuce/spinach etc. Catches the water in the removable bottom and aerates the content as you wish. It can be used as a colander and has a divider so you can separate the content. GREAT BUY!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Progressive International Lettuce Keeper

Keeps Lettuce Crisp !

06/26/2013
By ,
Kuna, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this lettuce keeper ! It even brought some nearly wilted lettuce back from the grave.
I heartily recommend this product. I'm not throwing out lettuce or little green onions any more !
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next