Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HoMedics HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HoMedics HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

Relax yourself in a holistic way with the HoMedics SBM-500H Therapist Select Shiatsu One Massaging Cushion. It offers a luxurious massage for your back and shoulders in a traditional type of massage therapy that originated in Japan. The HoMedics massager has separately controlled back and shoulder massage mechanisms to give you the most controlled and complete massage ever. It soothes your neck and back muscles by providing three types of massages like rolling, shiatsu, and spot massage. The Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with heat massaging option warms up your entire back muscles in a minute and helps your muscles to relax. Easy to operate, it can be used single handedly. This massager comes with straps, which can be effortlessly attached to any regular chair.
Average Customer Rating:
4.189 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation79%42 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

AWESOME Chair Massager!

09/15/2009
By ,
Litchfield, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently our older, base model Shiatsu chair massager gave up after much use. We decided to move up to the model with the additional massage for upper back/shoulders, are we glad we did - AWESOME!
It is important to read the instruction manual - "lean into the massager with a MILD pressure", let the massager do the work. Also STOP if it feels like your back has had enough this time. For the upper shoulder massage keep the massager above the shoulder blades in the upper back, lean into it with a light, mild pressure - the stress relief is welcome and AMAZING!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 2 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

What a massager!

12/27/2009
By ,
Western Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This isn't your typical vibrating massager. It feels like someone's actual hands pressing hard into your muscle tissue. It seems a little hard at times. I've never had an actual massage, but I've always heard afterward it can make you a little sore. I wasn't sore after using it, but it's a pretty intense massage. You can keep it adjusted on a particular area. I like the lower back. We bought it for my parents as a Christmas present and everyone ended up using it. We are thinking about getting one for ourselves. It is kind of expensive, but it defintely feels good if you have muscle tightness or other back and shoulder problems. We definitely recommend it if you can afford the $150-200 price range. The remote seemed a little confusing, but I didn't look at the instructions. I think with reading them and using it a few times, you'll figure it out pretty easily.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Review 3 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

It hits the spot

04/18/2009
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw this item displayed @ BBB and tried it out. Of course it was the most expensive one out of the three but it was the only one that actually deep tissue massages...that I've seen. They display it in an office chair so you pretty much control the supplied pressure you want. I am 6' and the neck massage is a little too low unless you sit low in the seat. What I really liked about this product is the mid to lower back range. I am an athlete and it really works out the knots like a deep tissue massage would. Those of you who say "it hurts"...come on, get a backbone!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 4 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

So on target!

07/06/2010
By ,
Long Island, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The massager is just fabulous. It can be easily programmed to target a specific area. The heat function makes it even better. We both find back discomfort is eased after using the massager for 15 minutes. I should also mention how relaxing it is. Everyone should have one of these if only for rest and relaxation!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 5 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

I love the benefits of this machine

01/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted something like this for a long time. I tried at a store, but also loved the extra option of shoulder massage. The wide variations of massage
options, plus the heat are great.
As for the longevity of this product, I cannot say, but it is wonderful, at this point. For value I say it is great considering what one might pay for a massage these days. It relaxes me, after a long days work.....
Homedics has come a long way in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

Great professional massage option

10/03/2010
By ,
High Ridge, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product replaces my old Shiatsu Massager with only back massaging. I wore that one out. I love the back heat and spot options. The neck massager is a bit high for me since I'm only 5'3", and I have to sit on some pillows for it to work, but it's nice to have the combination back and neck massaging in one product. I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 7 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

Not for short people

08/10/2010
By ,
Mississippi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product does exactly what it says it will do but, not really fitted for a short person.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 8 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

better than $2000 massage chair

07/09/2010
By ,
los angeles,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lay down on the massage cushion,works better than put on the chair .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

I liked it, She didn't

01/06/2010
By ,
Corning, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item here, I bought for wifey as an xmas gift, she didn't dig it, I did. I would sit in it for a while after work and its great but since she didn't like it I took it back to the store.
About the features, at first try, its a learning process to learn the diffrent settings. I like the fact that you can postion the massaging to where you want it and move it as needed. You can adjust the back massager for width. The shoulder part adjusts up and down to accomadate diffrent size people and really dig in to tired shoulders.
Only thing I can pick on it about is that you can't have heat without having the massaging function on.
All in all, its a great product, but it is pricey, so I guess this is the cadilac of massagers
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

I like my Shiatsu Deluxe Massager

06/22/2010
By ,
Maumelle, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Deluxe Shiatsu Rolling Massager at Sams Club shortly before Christmas. I have been very happy with this product and have recommended it to a friend who has back problems after hip replacement. I was injured in September 2008 when stepping from an elevator. I've used my Shiatsu massager several times daily and always have some relief from back pain and general discomfort. It is easy to use, is quick to work at directed places along my back/spine, and has been remarkably durable for the brief time I've had it and used it. No question, I recommend this product without slightest reservations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

Great Massage!!!

01/29/2010
By ,
Freehold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful (so far). I purchased this type of product (another brand) October 2009 and it only lasted two months before it started to malfunction. I love all the settings. The shoulder massage is great. The Shiatsu option and rolling option is great!! Love the heat. The different settings are a plus!! The massages are almost as good as the equipment used in my chiropractor's office which cost thousands of dollars!! This is the greatest!! I recommend to everyone who wants a wonderful and very relaxing message. I use it in the evenings before I go to bed and it helps me sleep like a baby!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

AWESOME MASSAGER!!!!

09/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive had this product for a couple of months and I am very pleased with every feature it provides! Feels like a real massage you would get in a salon. Very durable and the quality is outstanding. I am a very hesitate person when it comes to purchasing items off the internet, but this by far is the best product Ive owned! I would highly recommend it to anybody whose back aches. After 15 minutes in this chair, your body feels so relaxed and the aches and pains are relieved. The heat feature helps so much!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

Try before you buy

03/10/2009
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this and was so excited! I read rave reviews and thought finally! Well I set it up, and boy was I disappointed. The shoulder/neck part did not reach my shoulders or neck and I am a tall person almost 6 foot. It was just a tad too high. The back part was too strong and really hurt my back. In fact it hurt for three days afterwards. Thinking I was just a whimp I had my husband try it when he got home. He said it hurt his back too. I ended up taking it back. Try it before you buy it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Review 14 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

A good product

09/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought for my mother in law as birthday gift and she seems like it. I tried it and find the upper back is not "upper" enough-you have to slide your body to lower to get really to the upper back. The shoulder part only have shiatsu which is a little hard on older people. I'd wish they have rolling feature on the shoulder as well. It used to be a little too expensive. Now they lower the price which makes a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

Nice but not completely useful

03/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product for my mother. Before sending it across to her i used it for trial. But to my surprise i was not completely satisfied and had to return it back. Spending so much money and its upper massage for shoulders is complete waste. It will never touch your shoulders. Otherwise product is real good, back massage was excellent. I might buy the one without two massagers, only one with back massaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 16 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

Almost - but not quite

01/03/2010
By ,
Bensalem, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my wife. She tried it many times. This product has a back and a neck massager. Unfortunately, this means that the back massager did not come up high enough, and the neck massager didn't come low enough. So - key spots on her back were missed.
We returned the product, and got another one with just the back massager part (the portable Homedics product.) It is must better for the purpose.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

Good Purchase!

12/17/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this product to work very well. I was skeptical at first, as I have tried other back massagers before. I like that it can do both the shiatsu massage and the rollers and that it also does the shiatsu massage on your shoulders. I'm very short, so the shoulder massager barely reaches my shoulders, but it does. I am very happy with this product and would recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

Welcome Relief

12/27/2008
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've tried many message devices over the years but this product does it all with no fuss or hastle. Just sit in a comfortable chair, turn on the device and in no time the little pains and aches just disappear. The heat is a great addition to the message as well. I am saving much more than I paid at Walmart for this unit in therapist bills.
Thank you Homemedics!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

great product

08/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this thing is great, just melts away all the tension, stress, inflamed muscles, lower back pain, oh and i do not have any shoulder tension pain problems anymore.
you will never regret it.
placed it for convenience on my computer desk chair, and everyone uses it whilst surfing
great great great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Massaging Cushion with Heat

Incomplete Service

10/18/2010
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I absolutely love the shoulder massage on this massage cushion, but in my back I can barely feel it. I love the shoulder massage so much that I thought about keeping it, but then reality set in and I decided it wasn't worth the $204 I spent for that part alone. I'm taking it back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next