Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fisher-Price Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Fisher-Price Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

The Kid-Tough Portable DVD Player is the first portable DVD Player that is tough and easy enough for kids to use. The Kid-Tough DVD Player features rubberized details and shock & skip proof technology that allow this DVD player to stand up to tough preschooler use and multiple drops. Encourage your child to capture the entertainment anywhere anytime.
Average Customer Rating:
3.557 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation67%59 out of 88reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink
09/27/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall good product. It does seem kinda sensitive to DVDs that aren't in perfect condition. If there are any tiny scratches it sometimes won't play them. My 3 year old has no problem working it completely by herself.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

Okay, but could be better.

01/08/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is a good idea. My 4 year old can use it with no problems, but she can use a regular DVD player too. We go this because it was supposed to be "tough" and it is.
BUT, the battery life is 2 hours at the most, usually less. And we have had problems charging it. The car charger comes loose all the time. And I'm not positive but I think it uses the power faster than it charges. It seems that several times we have had it plugged into the car and it has gone dead.
I will say that the headphones are really nice. We've had a hard time finding a pair for her small head that she can handle. These work really well for her.
So yes, I would recommend it, but just because there isn't anything else like it out there. I wouldn't give my 4 year old a regular portable DVD player. But hopefully there will be competition soon so this one will get better or get lost.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 3 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

NOT KID TOUGH!!!!!!

12/27/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My 5 year old daughter got this for her birthday as a gift from grandparents. The first one charged overnight, in the morning when we tried to put a movie on, the player would not read the DVD. This one we sent back to Fisher-Price directly and are waiting for a refund check. We buy a 2nd player that worked for just one day, and began having the same problem as the first one. We exchanged this for a third player. So we will see how this goes. If my daughter did not like it so much I would have completely returned the 2nd player and got a completely different brand player. My daughter is five, she is not rough on this product in any way. This product is advertised shown falling down a flight of stairs. There is no way! If you can get it to work it is cute, but really is not durable. Also, it is completely over priced! Not worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

Great idea, doesn't work.

06/02/2009
By ,
Mesa, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hopeful with this product despite the negative reviews because it is the perfect concept for my daughter. She got it for her birthday on a Saturday, by Wednesday there were lines in the screen. Some of the reviews I read said that shortly after the lines showed up, it stopped reading DVDs all together. I considered exchanging it, but after reading reviews on this site and the Fisher Price site, I decided it was likely we'd just be disappointed again. My daughter was really upset! The DVD player is so cute. Yes, the screen is small but for kids it is fine. The buttons were nice and big for little fingers and my daughter loved operating it herself. We thought the sound was great, the speakers were in a good place and the volume was perfect. It was also nice how it was able to stand up. I hope that Fisher Price is able to improve this product and make one that doesn't have so many problems. The concept is GREAT, how nice for kids to be able to take it on the go and not have to worry about it falling. We would definitely purchase one if they fix the flaws, but we have returned ours and I would not be able to recommend this product to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

Absolutely Love It!

03/06/2009
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For Christmas I bought this DVD player for my seven year foster daughter who has ADHD, oppositional behavior, severe temper tantrums and displays very violent behavior. She loves looking at videos so when I saw the commercial where the kids dropped it and the player remained intact I decided to give it a try. At first I thought that it would be too much of a "baby" toy for her, however she fell in love with it. When we go to doctor's appts. she takes it with her. She watches the videos in the doctor's office, in the car, or anywhere where she has to wait for longer than 15-20 minutes. I also read one of the reviews where the DVD only lasted for 2 hours, which ours did as she played with it on Christmas day. Well if I had read the instructions, it indicated that you had to give it a full charge before using it. My belief in the product was restored after charging it, because with a full charge it will last all day or at least 5-6 hours. I also use this product as an incentive for her where she has to earn it, therefore some of her temper tantrums have reduced as she looks forward to using the DVD. Great product. The only thing I would change would be to make the legs a little more sturdier as she almost broke the legs off when trying to stand the product up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

Very Disappointed

01/09/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I saw this product advertised on T.V. before Christmas, I thought "YES! What a perfect way to have my 2 1/2 year old movie lover watch her favorite movies wherever she wanted to." And I would be free of watching Toy Story for the 87th time. Her grandma got the pink DVD player for her for Christmas and we were all very happy. Then 2 days after Christmas the DVD player just stopped working. It wouldn't even play the DVDs that it came with. Grandma brought it back because we thought maybe we just got a faulty one. Nope. The second one didn't even last 10 minutes. Very disappointed, especially because Fisher Price usually makes good quality products. I would NOT RECOMEND this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 7 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

NOT Kid Tough

01/07/2009
By ,
Virginia Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got this for my three year old daughter for Christmas. I charged it for the required 8 hours before using at it started up no problem. After running for a few minutes it had these small horizontal lines running through the picture. No matter what DVD we tried it still had them, even on brand new ones she had gotten for Xmas. It didn't bother her but it irritated me because for the $ it should work better than that. I decided to keep it because she loved it so much. But after a couple of weeks the battery would not hold a charge and the player would just stop and start over. Luckily I still had all the packaging so I took it to Walmart today and exchanged it for another.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

Doesn't play discs

11/13/2008
By ,
Southern NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The concept is a good one - a player that can take the bumps of kid life. Sadly, the player we bought was new in the box and won't play discs at all without skipping. The controls seem well thought out for kids and the player is nicely designed, but it doesn't play discs - so it's not useful. We tried several new discs that play just fine in other players. the FP player will load the disc, play it for a few minutes and then the picture breaks up into an array of rectangles. It will then either start the disc over, stop or pick up where it left off. It seems to do this on any disc we try.
We might exchange it for another but I'm more likely to just get a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 9 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

A little too pretty in pink

06/02/2009
By ,
Glendale, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son in pink because it was on sale for $99. The blue was $130! What's up with that!. So far so good. It's been several weeks. I have not used it as a dvd yet so no comment on that. As far as the cd player it's fine. I wish the battery life was longer. It seems to be less than the 2 hours stated. I bought a car charger for this reason. The sound is fine. It could be better but it's really fine for a child. My son loves it...OH! as I read before I purchased it the child does find the open button right away. I need to try the tape thing because my son will take out the cd a fling it. Overall I'm happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

poor!never had the chance to break it herself!!!!!

02/07/2009
By ,
Oil City, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this dvd player for my very bright 3 year old on a sunday. We opened it and bought a new dvd to play in it. She laid on the floor of the living room and never moved. she loved it! she looked forward to using it. she could work it independently within 10 minutes. unfortunately by wednesday the picture was fuzzy and had lines in it. I exchanged it friday, purchased an on the go set for a long drive and by the time we reached our destination the sound went in it and the picture froze every three minutes. Today it doesn't work at all. it was 129.00!!!! that's disgusting. she hasn't had the chance to drop it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

Great decision to buy!

01/01/2009
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to buy this DVD player for my 4 year old daughter because we already have a portable DVD player to use on trips when flying and we have a DVD player in our car. I thought this was a little expensive for a player with a small screen, but decided to purchase it so I wouldn't have to keep watching her every move worrying she was going to drop our portable player, which she has dropped before and it hasn't worked very well since. I wasn't sure if she would like such a small screen but she doesn't care... She LOVES her DVD player... because it is PINK and it is her very own! The screen is very clear, the sound is good and the screen seems larger than I had invisioned from the measurements. She dropped it from a standing position on the wood floor about ten minutes after she opened it and it has fallen off a table onto carpet a couple of times (because someone walked into the power cord) and IT WORKS GREAT! We have been using the power cord some because she has even been watching it at home because she likes it so much.
From researching, I found the most reasonable way to buy the player, on-the-go kit and case was to purchase the Bundle Pack through Walmart.com. I did not see the bundle pack in the stores. I received free shipping with the "site to store" option which was very simple and convenient.
I am very pleased with the product and my decision to buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

Worth the money

12/26/2008
By ,
Fort Smith, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this at first sight for my 7yr old daughter. I came home and read the reviews and wanted to return it. Some of the reviews made me nervous, thinking I made a bad purchase..
That couldn't be further from the truth! It's loud. I was able to hear from another room. My daughter carried it around with her, and it never skipped or stopped playing. It played even the scratched up dvd's,which, we have a lot of. She has it standing up and it plays just fine. I even watched a dvd in it, just to see, and now I am going to buy one for my 4 yr old son for his birthday in March.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

A very helpful product

12/29/2008
By ,
Long Island, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Christmas gift for my almost 3 year old. It's nice she can carry it around all by herself. She loves it and we used it yesterday while we did some shopping and went out to lunch. It definetly kept her occupied! She dropped it on the ground from the shopping cart and it kept on working so I'll agree with the products name - Kid Tough!
My only complaint is the duration the DVD player will play for before needing to be charged again. My suggestion is that there should be a rechargeable backup battery available for this product. Otherwise we love it and definetly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink
01/04/2009
By ,
elizabeth, co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a Christmas present for my 2 year old daughter and although a little young according to manufacter age recommendation, she seems to be figuring out the buttons to make it work. Can definately confirm it is a durable product and worth the money. The only negative would be is I have to agree with the previous reviews that I wish it had a lock on the dvd lid to keep her from taking the cd out. Movies are expensive and obviously no good with scratches all over them. Overall I would recommend this product to anyone who has small children and spend a lot of time in a car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

Loved it ...till it broke

01/10/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We got this for my 2 1/2 year old for christmas. She used it a few times. She loved to use it in the car, and she watched it at home and seemed to really enjoy it. It seemed pretty tough as she dropped it (and possibly threw it) a couple times.
Then it just quit working. It got lines across the screen then wouldnt play any dvds at all. We had only had it for 2 weeks.
Hopefully we just got a defective one. I exchanged it in the store today so hopefully the new one will work better.
Overall I think its a good product. Just make sure you save your receipt.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

Thank you Fisher Price

05/28/2009
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our daughter in November of Last year for her birthday. She loved her DVD player and took it with her everywhere we went. The play button stopped working and will not play any movies at all. I called Fisher Price and they said because it is with-in a year that they would send me a free shipping lable to send it back to them and they would send me a refund of 150. I did not have my reciept or anything. Very nice to deal with. So if anything goes wrong with yours with-in a year make sure you call Fisher-Price they stand by there products.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

DO NOT BUY!!!

05/12/2009
By ,
Grand Junction, Co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ok so my mom bought this DVD player for my 2 yr old daughter for christmas. we used it several times but was very careful with it. it never got dropped or anything. then in feb. it stopped reading DVD's. so we had to call and get all the info on returning it. they said they would send us a new one. well weeks went by and i finally called and they said they couldnt send us a new one but would send the money back. so now we went and got an actual portable DVD player. much much happier with that. needless to say i was very upset with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

Great but...

12/25/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only complaints are that the screen itself wasn't kidproofed very well, and the lid doesn't open very wide to allow little hands to place and remove a DVD easily.
The screen received a couple of light scratches the first day of use.
Don't get me wrong, the unit itself is very sturdy; my husband shook it vigorously to see if the DVD would skip. It did eventually, but even my daughter doesn't have the strength to shake it as hard as he did.
I only wish a little extra protection had been given to the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

better than expected

12/24/2008
By ,
Marion, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read all the reviews on this dvd player and i expected a product that the sound was overly quiet and problems watching other dvds. We opened the player this morning and my daughter hasn't put it down yet. The sound has been fine and there's been no problems playing less than perfect dvds. She also received a smart cycle and she spent all of five minutes messing with it and came right back to the kid tough dvd player. I am extremely pleased with this product and will recommend it to others!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Fisher-Price Kid Tough Portable DVD Player, Pink

little machine, big power

12/27/2008
By ,
Glassboro, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great machine. my daughter is 4 years old and loves to watch movies. Now she can watch on the go, in the store, at a resturant, etc. Nice part about it she is beating this thing up and it still continues to work.
Make sure when you get this product you fully charge it for 8 hours prior to first use. It will assure you the best quality. Also make sure you drain the battery completely or close to completely, before recharging. It will just make the player run at its best.
GREAT BUY, GREAT PRICE!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next