Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fisher-Price Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Fisher-Price Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Your child will be ahead of the game with the Fisher-Price Computer Cool School. This kid-friendly keyboard turns your computer (sold separately) into a complete get-ready-for-school system! Fisher-Price Computer Cool School features CD-ROM software, keyboard, writing tablet, and stylus for left- or right-handed children. Five learning centers are full of skill-building activities in important areas: reading, writing, math, science, art and music.
Average Customer Rating:
4.378 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(222 Reviews) 200
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
43
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation90%200 out of 222reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
43
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Awesome Educational Tool

11/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for our child for Christmas, but ended up giving it to them early because of its educational value.
Not only does our child love it, we love that it does way more than what we initially thought it did. There is science, music, math, reading/writing, art, and other fun educational/interactive things to do as well.
We also love that you can print out your child's art creations to either scrapbook or hang on the fridge.
The interactive pad plugs right into your computer tower and is password protected to keep your child from having access to the rest of your computer.
We do not currently own all of the different disks that you can get for this, but we do have the Sponge Bob one (which our child really likes, and so do we), and we also have the Dora & Diego one on its way. Out of all of them, those 2 looked the best. We will more than likely end up getting all of them.
I can't say enough good about this product. It's a great way to supplement whatever your child is learning with their regular schooling, especially since it gets them excited about learning.
One of the best $50 we've ever spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 2 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School
09/30/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this for my daughter's 5th birthday. She loves it. I think the set up in the store was a little misleading because it said come play with Dora, Clifford the big red dog, sponge bob etc... I thought these were games that were already preloaded but you really have to buy extra software.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Review 3 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Teacher Mom enjoys the break!

10/19/2010
By ,
Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an elementary school teacher and my child is 3.5. although i consider myself a great teacher, i have very little energy (patience) to put into learning for my OWN CHILD! at the end of the day my daughter and i want to play, not teach/learn and this tool is the PERFECT MIX.
we've had this for 4 weeks and my daughter uses it about an hour EVERY DAY (her own limit). in just 4 short weeks, she can effectively use both the stylus as well as now a real pencil -she learned to write many of her letters already, which she could not do at all before. i was not able to get her to concentrate on old fashioned pen and paper, or even magna doodle before this!
despite other reviews, NOT all of the games are the "same stuff just with different characters". we have 3 extra games which target different "skills/subjects" that ALL have some educational value, if only teaching creativity or fine motor skills.
the basic program with LEO the leopard is very nice and kept my daughter busy for several weeks before we broke down and got the extra games. (we couldn't find the games in stores OR online so we actually downloaded them from net. however, i have since then purchased games and since she is still young i will likely buy them all eventually)
despite other reviews that this product is not intended for children @ 3 "just because they can't swallow it"--i remind everyone that toddlers get frustrated with EVERYTHING that they do for the first time, or longer! this toy is the BEST thing we have gotten for any child, and i have been teaching for almost 2 decades. your child WILL grow into it if your expectations are such. in fact, its better to start younger with this toy given its potential expense.
things to think about when buying:
the older your child is, the more games you will need. @3 they can be happy with just LEO. i'm assuming that closer to 4 they will definitely need lots of games so this should be considered when thinking about the value of the toy.
do you have a SPARE computer (better, a laptop) to run this on? each member of MY family needs their own computer due to the demands of school/work (not to mention pleasure and communication needs) and since my 3 year old learns MUCH more on this keyboard than on educational / public television i prefer the third computer to a second television in my home. i can't see this keyboard as being very helpful without it's own computer unless parents are very limited to their online times or computer work from home.
similarly--think about where you are going to put this for a 3 year old: my own desk is too large for my 3 year old to use so i've had to set up an odd and ergonomically inefficient system in my study. as she grows bigger i'm not sure if the space i've rigged will be good for her posture, or for my work-from home habits as i need my own desk. having a laptop set up at the kitchen table or even a desk is rather time consuming or to do for an hour of computer time.
also--make sure you buy the games WHEN they are available, and for the APPROPRIATE age level. they are hard to find at times and when your child see's all of the characters at the start-up it DOES disappoint/confuse them when they can't click on those characters which essentially log them into the alternately purchased CD games.
something worth mentioning is that i actually have not figured out how to run this keyboard (navigating to what's inside of the games, specifically)...but my 3 year old HAS! for a week or two it was frustrating for both of us because i did not have the time to walk her through each aspect, but we QUICKLY made the agreement--if she screamed or banged on the machine, it got turned off for a while. she learned REALLY QUICKLY that being patient was worth it, and she knows how to run EVERY program and detail on this equipment now.
i gave the value a perfect 5 but as my child grows--the value lessens SIGNIFICANTLY as the system is quite expensive when considering the need for spare computer, extra games, toddler-appropriate work space and the longevity of using this toy.
i would NOT recommend buying for children closer to age 4.5/5. although it would be a GREAT tool for them until 5 or 6, the expense would lead me to alternatively recommend their own computer. the sole purpose of this keyboard is to protect a parent's computer, and provide large colorful version of programs suitable for toddlers. given that, it meets ALL expectations completely for the ages between 3 and 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 4 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

good product

01/07/2009
By ,
Ville Platte, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the only problem I have with this product is that it really is not good for a left handed child. It would be nice if the writing center could be moved to either side.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 5 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Love IT!!

11/02/2008
By ,
Skaneateles, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I asked my father to buy this for my daughter on her third birthday. When we got it home she was so excited she kept asking to play her computer. So we hooked it up. The first time we had to stand over her the whole time to show her how to work things and we thought oh no this is going to be a nightmare she is not ready for this toy yet. But by the third time she has the hang of it. Now she can get on it without any help from us and do the different activities as well without any help. The draw backs to this product is that it is hooked up to your computer and is hard to get to the back of our computer desk to un hook it so it just stays hooked up all the time. Another minus to this is that if your child is like mine she is spoiled and now thinks our home computer is only for her and gets very upset if we are on it. And the last thing which is a plus and a minus is the pen / mouse. It is great for teaching her how to write her numbers and letters but you have to push the pen down for it to work. That is to hard for her to do when she is tracing the numbers and letters. She can draw and color with it just fine. All in all though I highly recommend this toy. My daughter is learning a lot of things. From letters and numbers to different type of animals and instruments to shapes and colors. I am very happy I chose this learning toy for her. A+++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

User Friendly even for a toddler

04/06/2009
By ,
Lyman, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this product. I bought it for my 2 year old son. We've been looking around and thought of buying a Vtech but it was too pricey for us. But this product happened to be on sale more than half the original price so we thought we'd give it a shot. It is not very hard to get started...once you download the cd software and then hook the keyboard to the USB port, it's ready to go. My son was able to play with this product by himself after about a few minutes of instructions. He loves pressing the learning center buttons to places he wants to go to. I haven't gotten the other cd softwares that go with this...but the cd software it came in the box is sufficient enough for my toddler to learn. He loves the Art center and Math (especially the train) My son loves it so much, I have to use a timer on him or he will play for hours!!! I have already recommended this product to all my friends with toddlers. A must have in this high tech world!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Love it!!!

11/12/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter absolutely loves this, she got it for christmas last year and has played it almost every single day... She has become a pro at it, she is 4 and is already playing the 5-7 years games and loves them too!! Very much recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 8 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Great educational toy

06/25/2010
By ,
Pendleton, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my almost 3 year old grandson as an attempt to keep him off my computer, and he LOVES it! He learned how to manipulate the stylus/mouse very quickly, which gives him a sense of independence. I believe this will be a wonderful introduction to beginning computer skills, as well as fun and educational. I plan to buy additional software, especially the Clifford one (his favorite character at the moment). I would highly recommend this product to any parent or grandparent with a preschooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Great learning tool

01/02/2009
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. We bought this for my daughter just before her 4th birthday. I like this center because I feel like computer skills are a necessity these days for little ones and this motivates her to do educational activities. The drawing pad on the side is very accurate and easy to use for my daughter. I do wish, however, that the drawing pad was detachable or something due to the fact that my daughter is left handed. The keyboard and games are set up much like my daughter's preschool classroom, too. There are centers for reading, numbers/math, art, music and science. The different centers keep my daughter's interest and she does not get bored. The reading and math centers have 3 different levels of difficulty that suit her growing skills. The keyboard is so user friendly and my daughter likes that because she doesn't like having me help her. All in all, we really like this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Fun for the kids

01/19/2010
By ,
Columbia, Sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for our two girls for Christmas. I noticed how excited the girls got when I let them press keys on my keyboard. So I set out looking for a kids computer program. I'm so glad I found the cool School. My oldest girl (3 years old) could spend hours on the computer with the cool school. We got Leo's classroom, Sesame Street, Clifford, & Scooby Doo. It's a fun way for her to be independent on the computer and I don't have to worry about her getting into any of my important programs. I help her practice her letters in the writing sections she can now write several letters without the templates. I think the cool school is a great way to introduce little ones to the computer and to get them excited about the things they can learn. My younger girl (20months) loves to follow along with stories and hit the keys to make music along with the characters. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Software Glitch???

11/24/2008
By ,
florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my three year old who has been learning how to read and write. She was sooooo excited when we got it home we uploaded the software and she played literally for three hours. She used every station on there. We both loved it. THEN the next day when she woke up and went to play it immediately....it wouldn't start up. Even when I would try to use my mouse and start it from the software icon it went to lala land and did nothing. Every time for the next two days I had to unistall and then reinstall the software if she wanted to play it. So after the weekend and an hour on the phone with Fischer Price I returned it to wally world and exchanged it thinking it was a dud maybe. She loved it so I tried another one. First night I turned it on and off several times via the button on the toy keyboard. It worked fine. The next morning we went to play it and the same thing was happening. I returned it. There is nothing even close to this one out there we were very sad to have to return it. Has anyone else had a problem with cool school computer???I downloaded what the help line told me to and it didn't work still. So sad in Florida:(
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School
12/30/2010
By ,
JUNCTION CITY KANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My child is two years old this month . I purchased this for him because he is interested in touching our computer and what we our doing on our computer . He sits at the desk and plays with computer cool school and likes to press the buttons and use the pencil . I think he is to young to understand this product because it is for three to five year olds , but he really enjoys being able to be connected in a way to what we do on the computer . I also thought it came with the games that were displayed on the box , but it does not . I am disappointed in that because there is always something else these toy companies want you to buy they can not just give you all the accesories in one package . With out the other games it seems a little boring to me , but I don't play computer cool school my kid does and my kid seems to enjoy it . !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Very Very educational and fun!!!

12/15/2010
By ,
Chicago,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my two yr old son, it was suppose to be a Christmas present but I wanted to try it out myself and see how it worked etc before I wrapped it up..well my son saw it and wanted to play with it right away, he loves computers and keyboards so he right away fell in love with it, he started drawing on the pad and saw his scribble scrabble on the screen and he was so excited, he loved the music part as well he would make me put the instruments over and over and would dance to the song, I am positive he will be learning sooo much from this its a whole package, numbers abc's etc..I would recommend this without a doubt. Keeps kids busy, they have a good time and learn lots all at the same time. I just have to buy more software for it, he loves Diego so I might get the Dora and Diego CD. I am so happy with my purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 14 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Better than expected

01/14/2009
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My two and a half year old son got this keyboard set for Christmas from my mom. Usually she gets him things he can't use for another year. I was suprised how user friendly it was. On the box it said 3 to 6 and I thought oh no another thing my mom got that has to sit in the closet for a year before he can use. I was totally wrong. My son loves it. He will even get on it by himself. He learns so much. I had been trying to get him to learn his shape names and work on his numbers before and he got bored with me. In only a weeks time he has become very comfortable with his numbers and shapes. Plus he loves the art center. He can get as crazy as he wants with the colors and no mess for me to clean up. He needed a little help at first but now he can spend hours playing on it. It's perfect for when I need to cook or take a shower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Wonderful

11/19/2010
By ,
Barneveld, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son got this for his 3rd birthday. He learned how to work the pen in about 2 days. He loves the games and switches between activities often. I like that the additional disks are all appropriate. The levels are great. He can move to the next level when he wants and can move down a level just a easy. If I had one compaint, it is that we cant find Sesame Street or Scooby Doo in any of the 3 Walmarts within 20 miles from my home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Excellent Educational Product

12/29/2008
By ,
Rosemead, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this product for my 3 year old daughter! I was worried I would have to constantly be over her shoulder making sure she could do things on her own, but it tells her directions (and repeats it if they didn't get it the first time). I only had to set it up once but now she can turn the system on by herself.
I would absolutely recommend this product. Everything was made kid user friendly. In just a few days my daugher is counting on her own, recognizing letters and learning how to write numbers and letters. It also has a variety of printouts so your child doesn't have to be constantly glued to the computer. I think it will help her out by the time she enters pre-school next year.
She just got this for Christmas but will definitely go out and get her another cd.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

COOL ALL AROUND BUY

02/06/2009
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 1/2 & 4 1/2 yr recvd this for Christmas. Very cool & user friendly for Mom and kids. Loaded software, plugged in USB and we were up & running. I sat with them and went through each of Math, Read, Music and Art one time and now they can do by themselves. My 2yr has no problem staying busy & entertained even though she does not read yet. The art section is great - free draw or use the backgrounds and images for those who are not masters. I recomend an egg timer for taking turns. Graphics are great. For the price you cant go wrong. We have leapster and other computer games this is definitely at the top for over all value, fun and learning.They print their results which they are quite proud of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Great, Kids Love it, Works on Windows 7!

12/13/2010
By ,
Akl, New Zealand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought one for my 4yr old daughter and 3yr old son. They both love it! Both picked up how to use it within minutes. My daughter will sit there for over 2hrs playing it. She loves writing out the letters of the alphabet and the writing pad is very easy to use.
Also I have read that this does not work on Windows 7. I installed it on Windows 7 64bit and it installed perfectly no problems with drivers or anything. I think if you do have any issues try going to microsoft and download the latest directx 9.0 drivers. Windows 7 comes with directx 10 not directx 9 and the game uses directx 9. So you may have some missing files that the game needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Thank You Santa

01/03/2010
By ,
Lakeland, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best gift we could have gotten our grandson!! He is almost 4 and this year we focused on "learning" toys. Since I hooked up "his" computer...I can't get any computer time of my own. There are so many learning games and activity centers for him to choose from. In a very short period of time he has become quite adept at using the computer. Although you have to buy additional software to have more play options, they are well worth it!! Letters, Reading, Numbers, Math, Music, Art, Science, Field Trips, etc....And he can't get into "MY" computer system, so he can just play and learn...What a Wonderful Find--Thank You Santa.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Fisher-Price Computer Cool School

Love it so far

12/27/2008
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4 year old daughter got this for christmas. As soon as she opened it she started asking me to set it up for her, she is able to use my computer with internet without a problem so I knew she wouldn't have a problem figuring the fisherprice cool school out. She has been using it constantly for the past 3 days. She loves it. My 3 year old daughter likes to play around with it as well she is not as computer smart as my 4 year old. Nor does she have a problem using this. Right now this is a fav in our house, but like everything else we have to see how much times passes before this fades away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next