Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation100%56 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Centennial: The Complete Series

12/28/2010
By ,
Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have this series on VHS and really wanted it on DVD but when I recieved it the 2nd part of the dvd was damaged. Looks like it was never burnt properly so I had to return it to the store for a full refund. Maybe they should check their dvd's before they package them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 2 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

History via mini series

01/27/2009
By ,
VT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fictional tv mini series about the history of Colorado. I loved it when it was on television, recorded it onto VHS, and now have it on DVD. I don't have a big DVD collection, I only want to collect what I will watch again. The picture is not perfect, but is good. If you like history through mini series you will like this. It is well done and engrossing. You keep going back for more and more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 3 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Centennial: The Complete Series

01/04/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been waiting for years for this series to be put on DVD, well worth the wait. Just like watching it the first time in 1978.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 4 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Very good movie for a weekend of tv

04/02/2010
By ,
Brooklyn Park, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would highly recommend this purchased for my husband for his birthday and watched it with him on a snowy cold weekend. Price was excellent and if you like westerns you must purchase this one
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 5 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

hard to find and affordable

11/03/2010
By ,
Hannibal, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price for this movie was excellent. I found the movie on other sites for more than double of what I paid for here.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 6 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)
01/09/2010
By ,
Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Watched this movie as a kid 20-25 years ago and it is still awesome today. My kids are now enjoying it the same as I did. The movie is cheaper at Walmart.com then a used one on ebay!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 7 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Excellent series

03/26/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loved this series when it was out on VHS seceral yrs ago and so I was very excited to be able to find it on DVD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

History Comes Alive!

08/22/2008
By ,
Yucaipa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is what a mini-series is all about! I watched the series when it was first broadcast. I purchased the VHS set when that became available. I waited since then for the DVD set. Patience Rewarded!!
A great novel brought to life, with outstanding performances by actors. The characters are credible & memorable. A story-line that does not insult your intelligence.
CENTENNIAL is the one mini-series that can be enjoyed by the whole family. For those with school-age children; it will show how the American West was developed. For the older members of the family; a terrifc mini-series!
CENTENNIAL breathes life into American History and offers a visual alternative to text-books.
HINT: Buy the book and enjoy both!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 9 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Great series.

01/18/2013
By ,
Dresden, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to own this series on VHS but had been looking for them at a price I could afford for some time now and was happy to get them at the price I paid at Wal-Mart.
For me the best of the series is the beginning as I have always had a fascination with Mountain Men and Trappers in general.
The one and only complaint I have with the DVD's are the holding binder, they stack over each other in 3 stacks of 2 which means that when you want to watch say disc 2 you have to remove disc one and then replace disc 1 and then when you want to watch disc 3 you have to lift disc one to replace disc 2 replace disc 1 over that and then go to next stack and take out disc 3 and then repeat with each DVD I would have preferred a foldout that had them all on their own holder. Other than that this is a beautiful set with the artwork on the outside and the way the case folds shut like a book with the disc in a removable binder inside.
I have not watched the special features yet but I do intend to.
There is one more thing I would like to say about this series and it is one of the reasons I love it so much...Growing up I have always seen movies of the West where either the White man is portrayed all bad or that the Indians are portrayed as all bad, this is the only series that I can think of that shows that there were atrocities on both sides Indian and European and does not favor one over the other. I respect that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 10 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Great Price for this Epic Drama

01/28/2009
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my sister's birthday. I received one for Christmas from my husband (It was on my list and I've been waiting for it to come out on DVD) and when my sister saw it she commented that she would like it someday too. I expected it to be very costly and was very pleased at the price Walmart was charging for it. I really enjoy watching these historical sagas and not having to pay an arm and a leg for them or not being able to afford them at all. Thank you very much for the affordable price. I intend on watching mine this weekend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 11 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

A CLASSIC SERIES

01/13/2009
By ,
Indpls,IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is excellent for all ages i have been looking for this for several years, this is about how our Country was born and takes you through real life situations it will reach down and touch your Heart
as it covers 300 years of history excellent actors i use to watch this series every winter until my old
VHS series got old and had to many bad places on the tapes.
There is so much to take in everytime you watch it you will come to realize how well it was written and Directed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 12 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Entertainment plus

03/28/2009
By ,
Lacombe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Centennial is the best mini-series made. It stays true to the James Michener book, telling the REAL story of the settling of the west, starting with the original people, the Native American and on to the fur trappers, the westward movement, and into today. It was a good history lesson for my kids when it first aired on TV. It is well acted, well filmed and well edited. I enjoyed it tremendously in '78, this month when I received the cd, and will again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 13 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)
02/13/2012
By ,
Kennett Square, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was greatly impressed with how some of our counties history was depicted by fantastic actors who did a superb job trying to make us understand how our country could have been forged by
hard working people who developed our wilderness meeting all odds of weather,starvation,untimely deaths and great struggle to overcome serious tragedies.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 14 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Excellent Series !

04/19/2012
By ,
Cheyenne, Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I remember this coming out in the 70's, about the time Lonsome Dove did.
(I was in high school then) I liked it then and Love it now! Once you start watching this, you cant
stop. This is a 6 disk series, 2 episodes per disk.
The saga is about how Centennial Colorado came to be.
If you like Lonsome Dove, You Will Like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Great mini-series

06/06/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I watched this mini-series as a kid and have always enjoyed watching it. Since it hasn't be re-aired by any cable series in quite some time, I was thrilled to find that it was finally offered on DVD. Great story and characters!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 16 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Awesome Story

09/10/2008
By ,
Sanford, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this on VHS for about 10+ years. Have been searching for it on DVD...thanks Walmart! And the price is unreal. I $100.00 for the VHS set and again, 10 years ago. If you love history, this is a must see! Full of lots of great actors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 17 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

GREAT

12/09/2008
By ,
New York City, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first watched this movie in my high school US history class...loved it then and really love it now...it takes u through the history and hard ship of the west. i would recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys studying history.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)
12/04/2012
By ,
picayune ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a great bargin. the site to store was faster than anticipated. one of the great westerns that follows the settling of the country.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

A true Classic

09/02/2008
By ,
Sebring, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A true classic, I really enjoyed seeing it again and it was better than when it first aired on TV. I would most certainly purchase it again and I highly recommend this to any one hedging whether to purchasing this mini series
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 20 for Centennial: The Complete Series (Full Frame)

movie for both to enjoy

04/16/2009
By ,
Clinton TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband and I enjoyed the movie very much. We had gotten it in vhs and we where afraid they would stop making vcr's so we got it on dvd.I hope to pass it on to my grandchildren. I hope they will enjoy it as much as I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next