Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Shark Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright NV351 is a lightweight and steerable upright with a unique detachable canister for powerful and portable cleaning anywhere, anytime. The Lift-Away features a large-capacity, bottom-empty bagless dust cup and Anti-Allergen Complete Seal Technology that traps over 99.99 percent of dust and allergens inside the vacuum. Swivel steering provides complete control to easily maneuver under and around obstacles and furniture. The small, motorized brushroll can be turned on or off, providing superior performance on both carpets and bare floors. It also features premium pet tools, including a pet hair power brush, dusting brush and an 11-inch crevice tool for versatile cleaning throughout the home. A generous 25-foot long power cord makes easy work of cleaning large areas.
Average Customer Rating:
4.628 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1273 Reviews) 1165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
990
4 stars
191
3 stars
32
2 stars
21
1 star
39
Customer Recommendation95%1,207 out of 1,271reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
225 Questions | 659 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
990
4 stars
191
3 stars
32
2 stars
21
1 star
39
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Wonderful product until the belt broke!

12/31/2012
By ,
Upstate NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had this cleaner about 1 to 1 1/2 years. Cleaned great, picked up all the dog hair. We were very happy. Last week the belt broke in the power head, (no big deal), I disassembled the head and got the broken belt. Began trying to find a replacement, "Shark" said no belt is available! They told us we had to have a new head replacement, this is crazy. I tried vacuum repair and appliance shops, all of the on line vacuum parts stores for the belt number for this vacuum.
I just hope nobody else has similar problems and ours is a fluke. Shark said that it's a lifetime belt! Well no belt was ever made that will last a lifetime. The cleaner is unuseable and sits in the corner till we decide to discard it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Doesn't last very long!

02/01/2014
By ,
Cameron, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Shark vacuum about a year and a half ago. At first I just loved it. It's lightweight, has great suction and is easy to maneuver. For the first time in my life I didn't hate vacuuming! Right away I noticed that it tipped backwards very easily and the cord didn't stay attached to the handle very good. But for the great suction I figured I could deal with that. Also when you used the attachments the hose seemed short and limited how far you could reach. And the attachments didn't stay in the holders on the handle at all.
After about six months the hose got a rip in it. Didn't know how it happened but no big deal, I duct taped it until I could get a new one. I checked on the Shark website and I would have to order the hose and handle all-in-one piece for around $25.00. I didn't order it right away and about a week later went back to the sight. I decided to read other reviews and discovered others had the same problem. It was only a few days later when I found another rip. Basically the whole hose is now duct taped. I decided not to order another one because I'm sure the same thing would have happened.
Needless to say I'm very disappointed in the Shark. What I thought at first was a wonderful product turned out to be very cheaply made is ready for the garbage after 1 1/2 years. The warranty is worthless because you have to pay shipping to send it to the company and if you want it back you have to pay that shipping too. Apparently there are no authorized service people in this area...I don't know about anywhere else.
The pet hair attachment is cheap plastic and the hair get wound up inside the rod and it needs to be totally taken apart and cleaned or it won't rotate. Plan on doing that at least once a month!
I'm now seriously thinking of investing in a Dyson. My daughter in law bought one about a year ago and it still works like new!
I do not recommend this vacuum!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

quit after on month local store wont return.

05/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vacuum work great but quit and store wont take back.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Doesn't pick up anything !

08/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought with high expectations. Highly disappointed!! Returned immediately.
Pros: Size & Weight
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Superior vacuum product, easy to assemble

03/16/2014
By ,
Bethlehem, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy to understand manual, superior product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Very Very bad buy

09/25/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish there we zero stars. Just think what happens to dust when you blow on it? It scatters to other places. The fan is on the front of the vacuum how in the world will it ever vacuum dust if a hug amount of hair is already blowing it away. Dont buy it if you do be ready to drive back to walmart when you purchase it. Who would ever design this????
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Attachments don't stay on.

10/02/2013
By ,
Panama City, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I had done all of my research and made the best choice for a new vacuum cleaner. However, all I heard about was the great suction power of the Shark. And that was right, the suction power is wonderful. I couldn't believe how much I got up from just a small space. However, when I went to use the attachments to thoroughly clean the floors around the baseboards, the attachment wouldn't stay on. It kept falling off. This was the same for ALL of the attachments. They did not fit properly. I was greatly disappointed and returned it to the store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

king of the vaccums

01/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a gift. I had one just like it. I up graded to the rotator. But loved the way the navigator worked also.
Shark is th best vaccum I have ever owned.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Picks up Dirt Great, But then What

06/15/2014
By ,
Pine Grove, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Every review is right it does pick up dirt, however when it comes to pet hair the roller is kinda small and a lot of it gets wrapped around the brush roller. Not too big of a deal, now for the truth about this vacuum. When you go to use, make sure you are wearing dirty clothes cause you are gonna get dirty. Dirt flies back up out of the trash from the canister when dumping it, cause you gotta hit the sides to get it to fall out. Then there are the foam filters that are under the canister that pretty much have to be knocked out of dust and dirt every time you empty the canister. Do this outside make sure you know whats down wind, had to wash my house once and my truck another, and start beating these filters. Yes your gonna wear it. And yes you can buy replacement filters but how many? I empty the canister at least 4 times upstairs. I do live in the country but give me a break this is a ridiculous setup because all I'm doing is moving the dirt from inside the house, to mess around the kitchen trash can and to God knows where outside. O by the way I've still got it cause I'm too hard headed to admit I screwed up and it still works.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Power at a good price

11/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the money, this is a great vacuum that works very well. It's a bit heavy for the stairs but overall the results are worth it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

inconvient

06/02/2012
By ,
White Plains, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The "bagless" fills up in no time and you must constantly empty it...many times sticking your hands in there to get everything out. There are not enough accessories to go with it. To use the accessories, the tube does not have enough length and stretch. All in all, I'll go back to either a canister or a bagged upright. And I didn't notice any exceptional suction as they claim.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Vacuum

03/06/2013
By ,
Somerset,Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this for a couple weeks.. Keeps stopping up.. I have pets but it should have the power to do the job. I am returning to store..
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Faulty Vacuum Maybe?

07/12/2013
By ,
Wasilla, AK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this vacuum due to its high rating on this website. Used it the first time wouldn't even pick up a small loose threads on the floor. I really wished I kept the receipt so I could return it or exchange it. Maneuverability is awesome tho and very light weight. Idk what I'm gonna do with this vacuum it says never loses it suction well there is no suction in the first place. I vacuum everyday this doesn't pick up anything on the floor
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

You can't replace the belt!

11/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this for about a year. I've had nothing but trouble with it. It clogs all the time, the canister is too small, the attachments fall off. Now the belt needs replacing, and you can't replace it! You have to but a whole new head for $60 + shipping and wait up to 8 WEEKS! NO WAY am I giving this company more money! back to square one with the holidays around the corner.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

This was great until it broke after 57 days!!!

03/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved this vacuum so much but suddenly its started spitting out dirt instead of sucking my husband cut it off then it wouldn't cut back on, when it finally turned back on it only had one setting the middle of the brush had stopped and it was still spitting dirt. We took it completely apart there were no clogs or anything no reason for it not to work. I just bought the bissell powerlifter rewind for 60 cheaper and it works just as good if not better.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Bad outweighs the good.

06/11/2011
By ,
LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this, but was very disappointed and took it back.
Pros: Swivels, maneuvers easily, quiet, good suction
Cons: Short cord, tiny collection container that has to be emptied often, and doesn't release the
debris if there's fiber or hair strands in it. Simple dirt falls out easily, but if you have more
than dirt you have to reach inside and remove it manually. A BIG MESS!!
Short hose on the extension makes it rather useless.
Debris container keeps you from going under furniture.
On/off switch in an awkward place, and the electrical cord has to be held to keep it out of
the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum
04/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this vacum for my mom bcs it was rated very high and light weight. I does a very poor job of picking up any dirt and constantly gets clocgged. I would not recommend this product and only wish I could return it!
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

stick with your dyson

04/27/2012
By ,
bozeman, mt
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my summer place. The cord is to short, the cup is not as handy as my dyson animal to empty or as large and the hose is not as flexiable as my dyson. Yes it is convienent for the stairs, but again the hose is short and stiff. All I can say as I can't wait to get back to my winter place to use my dyson, in fact I may be taking it back tomorrow for a refund after only one days use. If you already own a dyson or have in the past don't waste your money on this one invest back into a dyson.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

it arrived broken

03/23/2014
By ,
charleston, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't even get to try it. When I took it out of the box there was a major break in the unit. I returned the next day and purchased a different brand, I didn't feel confident in shark anymore.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum

Piece of junk

05/11/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money on this piece of junk! Yes, it has good suction. Aside from that, it has no other redeeming features. When using the attachments, the vacuum tips over. It nearly crashed into my TV screen! And the "attachment holder" is a joke. The attachments are constantly falling off while I am vacuuming. The hose is very inflexible and does not stretch far enough to clean under anything. I have had it for a month and have already had to super glue the pet hair attachment back together. But, by far, the most irritating feature is that the filter on the front blows off while I am using it. It has a very small plastic lip holding it in place which does not stand up to the large amount of air that passes through it. My husband tried putting a screw into it to hold it in place and it still blew it off! I finally just started taking it off while vacuuming. I wouldn't recommend this product to my worst enemy!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Canton, OH
Agree with some of what you're saying
Posted 07/07/2014
I've had this vac for about 3 1/2 years now, so far the clips have worked fine and it runs good. I have two main issues with this vac that I think really need improved. One, this vacuum constantly tips over. It has already slammed into my dresser. So now, I always make sure that it is a clear distance from anything when it's standing by itself. Second thing is that it needs to have the cord coming from somewhere at the top not the bottom. I am forever and a day tripping over that stupid cord.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 1,166 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  59 Next