Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Shark Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

The new portable Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum is a versatile and powerful upright vacuum designed for deep cleaning on all floor surface types. Clean faster and better than ever before with the Shark Lift-Away's "Never Loses Suction" technology, a lightweight detachable canister, swivel steering, and anti-allergen complete seal technology. It'll be easier to vacuum under tables and chairs, make tight corners, and access other hard to reach places. Plus, this upright vacuum features more deep cleaning power and more dust cup capacity for longer times in between vacuuming - helping you save time. The Shark Navigator Lift Away is backed by a 5-year limited warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.657 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(990 Reviews) 883
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
782
4 stars
141
3 stars
27
2 stars
15
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation95%942 out of 988reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
158 Questions | 555 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
782
4 stars
141
3 stars
27
2 stars
15
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Stopped working after first use.

06/04/2011
By ,
New Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought the vaccuum today...at about 4:00 pm. Put it together. Vaccuumed my living room and dining room and it seemed great. Just now I attempted to use the hose on some dust higher up....no suction. I put the hose back in and glanced down (while the vaccuum was still running) and realized the brush wasn't spinning. Flipped the unit over and realize there was no suction their either. When I touched the lower part of the machine, it was hot....well I have to say, I've owned a lot of vaccuums but this was the first one that stopped working in 7 hours. Going back to the store for a refund. I think I'll stick toi my Bissel or I'll buy a Hoover. At least I get a year or so out of them. Glad I didn't order from the Shark Website and can just return it for a full refund at the store with no problem (other than having to take it apart and lug it back).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351
02/02/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited when my Shark arrived. I just had new carpeting put in my home so I wanted the best. When I noticed that the Shark does not have different levels for vacuuming on carpeting. This cleaner leaves large rivets in my new carpeting and it really looks awful. I can not adjust the brushes. If I want to vacuum a floor it does have an adjustment (but this is for the floors) I am so disappointed and can't return this machine because I bought it off line. Don't get a Shark if you have a pile carpeting.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Faulty Vacuum Maybe?

07/12/2013
By ,
Wasilla, AK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this vacuum due to its high rating on this website. Used it the first time wouldn't even pick up a small loose threads on the floor. I really wished I kept the receipt so I could return it or exchange it. Maneuverability is awesome tho and very light weight. Idk what I'm gonna do with this vacuum it says never loses it suction well there is no suction in the first place. I vacuum everyday this doesn't pick up anything on the floor
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Attachments don't stay on.

10/02/2013
By ,
Panama City, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I had done all of my research and made the best choice for a new vacuum cleaner. However, all I heard about was the great suction power of the Shark. And that was right, the suction power is wonderful. I couldn't believe how much I got up from just a small space. However, when I went to use the attachments to thoroughly clean the floors around the baseboards, the attachment wouldn't stay on. It kept falling off. This was the same for ALL of the attachments. They did not fit properly. I was greatly disappointed and returned it to the store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Vacuum

03/06/2013
By ,
Somerset,Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this for a couple weeks.. Keeps stopping up.. I have pets but it should have the power to do the job. I am returning to store..
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Bad outweighs the good.

06/11/2011
By ,
LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this, but was very disappointed and took it back.
Pros: Swivels, maneuvers easily, quiet, good suction
Cons: Short cord, tiny collection container that has to be emptied often, and doesn't release the
debris if there's fiber or hair strands in it. Simple dirt falls out easily, but if you have more
than dirt you have to reach inside and remove it manually. A BIG MESS!!
Short hose on the extension makes it rather useless.
Debris container keeps you from going under furniture.
On/off switch in an awkward place, and the electrical cord has to be held to keep it out of
the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

it arrived broken

03/23/2014
By ,
charleston, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't even get to try it. When I took it out of the box there was a major break in the unit. I returned the next day and purchased a different brand, I didn't feel confident in shark anymore.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

quit after on month local store wont return.

05/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vacuum work great but quit and store wont take back.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Doesn't pick up anything !

08/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought with high expectations. Highly disappointed!! Returned immediately.
Pros: Size & Weight
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351
04/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this vacum for my mom bcs it was rated very high and light weight. I does a very poor job of picking up any dirt and constantly gets clocgged. I would not recommend this product and only wish I could return it!
Recommends this product? No
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

inconvient

06/02/2012
By ,
White Plains, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The "bagless" fills up in no time and you must constantly empty it...many times sticking your hands in there to get everything out. There are not enough accessories to go with it. To use the accessories, the tube does not have enough length and stretch. All in all, I'll go back to either a canister or a bagged upright. And I didn't notice any exceptional suction as they claim.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Do NOT Recommend

07/18/2012
By ,
baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bottom hose split wide open from normal use after using it only about 5-6 times. I called customer support and was told they'd send me a new hose. After ten days or so, I called to find out when it was coming and was told it was on backorder for two months! I asked if I could get a replacement since the vacuum was new and defective, but I was told the only option would be to send it in for repair, wait 4-6 week for that and then pay $25 for the shipping myself. Now I'm back to square one, researching a new vacuum to buy. Terrible customer service. They don't stand behind their product.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
me too
Posted 09/03/2012
Same thing happened to me, I've got it duct taped now.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

stick with your dyson

04/27/2012
By ,
bozeman, mt
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my summer place. The cord is to short, the cup is not as handy as my dyson animal to empty or as large and the hose is not as flexiable as my dyson. Yes it is convienent for the stairs, but again the hose is short and stiff. All I can say as I can't wait to get back to my winter place to use my dyson, in fact I may be taking it back tomorrow for a refund after only one days use. If you already own a dyson or have in the past don't waste your money on this one invest back into a dyson.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Very Very bad buy

09/25/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish there we zero stars. Just think what happens to dust when you blow on it? It scatters to other places. The fan is on the front of the vacuum how in the world will it ever vacuum dust if a hug amount of hair is already blowing it away. Dont buy it if you do be ready to drive back to walmart when you purchase it. Who would ever design this????
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351
08/14/2012
By ,
Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not sure why but this Shark worked great for almost a year. Now keeps clogging in the hose that comes from the brush. Checked all the filters and still does it. Can not use it for the whole cleaning time, just clogs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Wonderful product until the belt broke!

12/31/2012
By ,
Upstate NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had this cleaner about 1 to 1 1/2 years. Cleaned great, picked up all the dog hair. We were very happy. Last week the belt broke in the power head, (no big deal), I disassembled the head and got the broken belt. Began trying to find a replacement, "Shark" said no belt is available! They told us we had to have a new head replacement, this is crazy. I tried vacuum repair and appliance shops, all of the on line vacuum parts stores for the belt number for this vacuum.
I just hope nobody else has similar problems and ours is a fluke. Shark said that it's a lifetime belt! Well no belt was ever made that will last a lifetime. The cleaner is unuseable and sits in the corner till we decide to discard it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Shark vacuum does not do the job

12/09/2013
By ,
Butler, Pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I swept the living room and family room with the new Shark and barely had 1 cup of fine dirt in the canister. My old vacuum would fill the canister before I had finished one room and that was every week. My old vacuum died after ten years and I didn't want to spend the money to get it fixed. The Shark was advertised as being just as good as a Dyson and 1/3 the price, after seeing these commercials I decided to get a Shark. It doesn't work!, it only had about one cup of fine dirt after two rooms. and that was after about three weeks while I decided what to get new. I would not recommend the Shark to anyone. I'm going to spend the money and get something that will work, it's said you only get what you pay for!
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Doesn't last very long!

02/01/2014
By ,
Cameron, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Shark vacuum about a year and a half ago. At first I just loved it. It's lightweight, has great suction and is easy to maneuver. For the first time in my life I didn't hate vacuuming! Right away I noticed that it tipped backwards very easily and the cord didn't stay attached to the handle very good. But for the great suction I figured I could deal with that. Also when you used the attachments the hose seemed short and limited how far you could reach. And the attachments didn't stay in the holders on the handle at all.
After about six months the hose got a rip in it. Didn't know how it happened but no big deal, I duct taped it until I could get a new one. I checked on the Shark website and I would have to order the hose and handle all-in-one piece for around $25.00. I didn't order it right away and about a week later went back to the sight. I decided to read other reviews and discovered others had the same problem. It was only a few days later when I found another rip. Basically the whole hose is now duct taped. I decided not to order another one because I'm sure the same thing would have happened.
Needless to say I'm very disappointed in the Shark. What I thought at first was a wonderful product turned out to be very cheaply made is ready for the garbage after 1 1/2 years. The warranty is worthless because you have to pay shipping to send it to the company and if you want it back you have to pay that shipping too. Apparently there are no authorized service people in this area...I don't know about anywhere else.
The pet hair attachment is cheap plastic and the hair get wound up inside the rod and it needs to be totally taken apart and cleaned or it won't rotate. Plan on doing that at least once a month!
I'm now seriously thinking of investing in a Dyson. My daughter in law bought one about a year ago and it still works like new!
I do not recommend this vacuum!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Piece of junk

05/11/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money on this piece of junk! Yes, it has good suction. Aside from that, it has no other redeeming features. When using the attachments, the vacuum tips over. It nearly crashed into my TV screen! And the "attachment holder" is a joke. The attachments are constantly falling off while I am vacuuming. The hose is very inflexible and does not stretch far enough to clean under anything. I have had it for a month and have already had to super glue the pet hair attachment back together. But, by far, the most irritating feature is that the filter on the front blows off while I am using it. It has a very small plastic lip holding it in place which does not stand up to the large amount of air that passes through it. My husband tried putting a screw into it to hold it in place and it still blew it off! I finally just started taking it off while vacuuming. I wouldn't recommend this product to my worst enemy!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Canton, OH
Agree with some of what you're saying
Posted 07/07/2014
I've had this vac for about 3 1/2 years now, so far the clips have worked fine and it runs good. I have two main issues with this vac that I think really need improved. One, this vacuum constantly tips over. It has already slammed into my dresser. So now, I always make sure that it is a clear distance from anything when it's standing by itself. Second thing is that it needs to have the cord coming from somewhere at the top not the bottom. I am forever and a day tripping over that stupid cord.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Shark Navigator Lift-Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV351

Superior vacuum product, easy to assemble

03/16/2014
By ,
Bethlehem, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy to understand manual, superior product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 884 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  45 Next